The Source Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Channel Master CM 4228HD HDTV Outdoor Antenna

Channel Master CM 4228HD HDTV Outdoor Antenna

Enjoy the highest quality HDTV programming with the Channel Master CM 4228HD Antenna. This 8-Bay HD and UHF outdoor TV antenna picks up UHF band channels 14 thru 69 with a reception range of 60 miles. Plus, the CM 4228HD also picks up High VHF signals within a 45 mile radius, streaming channels 7 thru 13. With your HD television you will be able to pick up the clearest HD signals being broadcasted in your area. The antenna easily mounts to a traditional antenna mast, providing quick and simple installation. UPC: x020572042284 Manufacturer's Part Number: CM-4228HD
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 13 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Channel Master CM 4228HD HDTV Outdoor Antenna
Review 1 for Channel Master CM 4228HD HDTV Outdoor Antenna
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dancour
Used for: over a year

The Best OTA Antenna For Me

Date:January 28, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I bought the CM-4228 to pick up free OTA digital channels from a fringe area – over 60 miles away. After trying the Antennas Direct DB8 and the 91XG, I found the CM-4228 to out preform the others getting more channels, being more durable in strong winds and less likely to be affected by ice and snow loads.
I did read somewhere that discarding the black plastic covers increases it's range. I do use the CM 7777 amplifier for my distant stations such as PBS Watertown. It’s not needed for CBC Ottawa
While some people use a rotor, I use 2 antennas and a remote control switch. Canadian winters don’t like rotors.
Yes, it is built overseas. Be cautious when tightening anything especially the balum (cable to the black box). I added some stainless steel lock washers.
It’s shipped in a large box - basically assembled already. But check all the connectors anyway. It might have had a bumpy ride to your place.
I’ve had good success with my CM7000 PVR over the past 2 years so I’m comfortable with the Channel Master brand.
Get it on sale and shipped to your nearest Source – no charge for shipping.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Channel Master CM 4228HD HDTV Outdoor Antenna
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SteveD
Location: Kawartha Lakes
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate

FREE TV is good, free HDTV is BETTER!

Date:October 7, 2013
This antenna does the job, I just leaned it up against our bungalow interior wall and got 2 channels crystal clear, I then hooked up the suggested Channel Master CM 7777 Titan2 High Gain Preamplifier with Power Supply and got no channels? I went through Channel Master's troubleshooting steps on their website (yes I got out the volt meter) and decided that this was a dead unit, it's been three weeks and I'm still waiting on my replacement.... I'm hoping for 4 or 5 channels with the amp! My wife couldn't handle the three foot by four foot monster on our bedroom wall so I've stuck it up on my roof; now I get another couple of channels (although not consistently)...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Channel Master CM 4228HD HDTV Outdoor Antenna
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lon1955
Location: Woodstock, Ontario
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64

Mounted On Roof Top In Woodstock, Ont.

Date:December 13, 2011
Combined with a CM7777 amp and Channel Master Rotator and I get 28 hd channels. (your looking at an investment of about $350 total)
HD channels include all locals and about a dozen US channels as well.
Don't bother with satellite or cable. This move is the way to go!!!!
Regards
Lon
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Channel Master CM 4228HD HDTV Outdoor Antenna
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FreeTV

Powerful small Antenna

Date:November 21, 2011
Product Highlights: compact reception.
I purchased the $199.00, 14 foot long high-gain antenna, as well as the smaller 8-bay #4228 ChannelMaster. I found no noticable difference in reception between the two, so I am keeping the far more manageble 4228. A fraction of the size, not half as delicate and prone to breakage, and it's not longer than my roof! I would recommend giving it a try in your area before going larger.
Review 5 for Channel Master CM 4228HD HDTV Outdoor Antenna
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EpsilonLambda
Location: Richmond Hill
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Good reception.

Date:June 30, 2013
I am receiving 27 channels from my second floor window. Hope to receive more when mounted on the roof. Had to wait 6 weeks though for the back order .
Review 6 for Channel Master CM 4228HD HDTV Outdoor Antenna
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Markham
Location: Markham ON
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: Over 64

Too good

Date:February 17, 2012
This 4228 high gain HDTV antenna is too good. As a simple test I hung it in our family room window pointed in a poor direction yet it picked up all of the stations from the CN tower. The next step will be to exterior wall mount it facing SE to Buffalo and I have a good feeling that it will perform just as well. Buying the highest gain antenna was the right move.
Review 7 for Channel Master CM 4228HD HDTV Outdoor Antenna
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SignalHunter
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate

Picks up distant signals

Date:November 6, 2012
Directional attend that helps eliminate adjacent channel interference if you point it just right. Tried the 4221HD but it has a much wider beam width which allowed off angle strong channels to interfere with weaker channels.
For it's size, it is lightweight and has low wind resistance which is good since it is attached to my chimney.
Review 8 for Channel Master CM 4228HD HDTV Outdoor Antenna
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
shackman
Location: Carp, On
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44

No great improvement

Date:September 28, 2012
Picked up the antenna on sale to replace rabbit ears.
Although there was some improvement, not enough to justify the price.
Was hoping to pick up a couple more channels but it did not. Purchased mainly so that current channels would not drop out as often which it seems to do. Located in Carp, On.
Review 9 for Channel Master CM 4228HD HDTV Outdoor Antenna
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ftestte1976
Location: Montreal
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Home Entertainment system

Easy to assemble and use.

Date:November 12, 2012
Pretty easy to put up anywhere. Inside attic, on the roof (my case) or on a wall. I used a tripod to fix it on the roof, and right away I started getting 18 channels, 14 of them in HD. ZERO dollars. Bye bye cable providers !!
Review 10 for Channel Master CM 4228HD HDTV Outdoor Antenna
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hockey
Location: Oshawa
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate

great digital reception

Date:October 2, 2011
With the change to digital tv and my dislike of both cable and satalite companies this antenna gives me just what i need with no monthly cost.
Review 11 for Channel Master CM 4228HD HDTV Outdoor Antenna
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CBoy
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Great antenna

Date:September 27, 2011
The product is great just a bit bulky mounted to the side of my house in ottawa and picked up 13 channels and pretty clear.
Review 12 for Channel Master CM 4228HD HDTV Outdoor Antenna
Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Manu

Date:October 3, 2011
Did not work, I have better result with small indoor antenna.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Channel Master CM 4228HD HDTV Outdoor Antenna
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1