The Source Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At The Source
Shop Satellite & Digital Converters or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Source.

Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver

Bell HD receiver - Move up to HD (or get ready to move up to HD)! Experience the high-definition difference, with picture-quality that's up to 10 times better than regular cable. 16:9 widescreen format Seamlessly switch between digital and HD programming On-screen programming guide Enable full PVR functionality (pause/replay/record) with optional External Hard Drive Net price after $200.00 new subscriber credit. Purchase price is 199.99. One primary credit per account. Available to new residential customers, where access and line of sight permit. A fee in an amount not to exceed 1.5% of your monthly Bell TV charges shall apply to fund Bell's contribution to the CRTC's Local Programming Improvement Fund. See Bell.ca/LPIF. Early termination fees apply. Subject to change without notice; not combinable with other offers Taxes extra. Other conditions apply. Customer must purchase receiver(s) between Sept. 1, 2011 - Sept. 21, 2011, book installation by Sept. 30, 2011 and activate receiver(s) within 60 days. Pricing may vary by province.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 33 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 26(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Review 1 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beller
Location: Vancouver
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Other Device

Much better than the basic HD receiver & with PVR

Date:December 23, 2010
This is to replace my old model Bell HD receiver. But I think this model is the basic for Bell now.
This model has much faster respond than my one old Bell HD receiver in viewing the menu. And also the volume is much higher than before. I have to turn on my TV volume quite high in some channel in order to get to normal sound volume in my old model. The best thing is you can plug in a USB external drive to record your program while you are away. The installation of the USB drive is easy and simple, just plug in and follow the instruction. Try not to plug in a drive more than 1 TB as it is not recommended. And the programming to record is simple, no need to calculate the time yourself as if a VCR. Just point to a program and it do everything automatically.
However it is not dual tuner receiver in which has a lots of advantage to this single turner. e.g. A lot of time you want to switch channel while recording the channel. This single turner can't do this. So anyone have a large family might consider the 6XXX series for a dual turner which cost $200 more. For the sale price of $130, I am happy with this for now and save a few bucks. If you can get it for $99 at Xmas........it will be a excellent deal.
Review 2 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greggers
Location: Ottawa Valley
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Other Device

Got it on sale ... great receiver, but no PVR ...

Date:December 31, 2010
Great receiver ... got it on sale for $149.99 online. Purchased a hard drive to upgrade to PVR features (I miss my PVR ...).
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
John256
Used for: 3-6 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

Good Receiver

Date:June 1, 2011
This receiver was easy to setup and works well. The picture quality is excellent and it has the features you would expect. The remote is pretty much standard Bell type and is programmable to control other devices. Have not tried the optional PVR function via external USB hard drive yet, the option is in the setup menu. It includes audio video , video, and telephone cables but no HDMI cable, no big deal. Am very pleased with this receiver.
Review 4 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mick
Location: Ontario
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44

PVR'ing made affordable

Date:July 16, 2010
The 6131 was the easiest Bell satellite receiver I have set-up. It is much smaller than previous generation receivers. The big bonus is the PVR capability. Purchase separately a hard disk drive (that meets Bell's specs), plug it in, have Bell activate the feature, and away you go. You can save $$$ and record more shows with this method vs. investing in a 9241 receiver.
Review 5 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheRaven
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop
Store Expert

Great product, Very affordable

Date:September 28, 2011
This receiver is great, very easy to use and gives you over 100 HD channels, which is more than any other service provider. Helpful hint if you want to save money: set this up on the rental plan that they offer. There is no money up front, plus, after the three year term is up, you will have saved $30 as opposed to purchasing it ouright.
Review 6 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mjcjc
Location: Haliburton
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: E-reader

very good value

Date:February 19, 2011
This item was purchased online at a great sale price that, as a current Bell customer, I would not normally get from Bell. I have had Bell Satellite for many years now and also have a rental receiver that I will certainly replace the next time this or a PVR goes on sale.
Review 7 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bob202
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

6131 HD Receiver

Date:September 24, 2010
Its great for the price especially with the Bell promo $199 refund for new accounts, it sounds even better. I was able to hook up the receiver to my HD TV pretty easily (that is if you already had the dish installed and ready).
Downside: Cannot record unlike the PVR....
Review 8 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Carlos
Location: Burnaby

worst pvr fuction with hard drive!!!!!!!!

Date:August 14, 2009
I went in to a local source store and bought a Bell hd box with a external hard drive. The box is very good but pvr sucks on this because it can't record two shows while watching one, it can't pause live tv and I had major problems with my hard drive
Review 9 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ed
Location: Guelph

Regarding "worst pvr fuction with hard drive!!!!!!

Date:August 21, 2009
You're being a little hard on the high def receiver you reviewed. You failed to identify that it's not a PVR but a standard hd receiver with recording capability plus you pause problem is assoc. with the harddrive you hooked up not the Bell equipmen
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nick
Location: Toronto, Ont
FEATURED REVIEW

Best Picture

Date:February 17, 2010
If you are thinking of buying a HD receiver you should now that this particular model is the most reliable one and has the best picture quality period even better than 9241 or 9242. I have both receivers hooked up to 52" Samsungs LCD 1080P tvs.
Review 11 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SaintNick
Location: Saskatoon
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

Great Features!

Date:December 24, 2010
Product Highlights: pvr capabilities
Receiver was great. HD and easy to connect. PVR capabilities were easily enabled by just plugging in a externally powered hard drive. The receiver automatically reformats the hard drive and allows you to use the receiver as a PVR.
Review 12 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
J. Stevenson
Location: Saskatoon

Great TV

Date:August 14, 2009
I just upgraded my TV to an HDTV and went an bought an HD reciever. Installation was a breeze and the picture is amazing. I will never go back to watching sports in Standard Def again! If you have an HDTV you need to buy this!
Review 13 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave La Rose
Location: Corner Brook, NL

Excellent Reciever!

Date:July 22, 2009
Just bought this reciever. Installation came right on time (within 3 business days) and was smooth. Bell was excellent to deal with for the activation, and the HD channels are crystal clear. Overall, excellent system.
Review 14 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ed
Location: Guelph

Great deal for great price

Date:August 21, 2009
I was always happy with Bell Tv's standard def. but the picture and sound are so much improved if you have the television and surround sound to support it. Bell is meet ing the competition head to head on price too.
Review 15 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
polkamon
Location: Vancouver
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64

Works great as a PVR.

Date:November 6, 2010
An excellent HD receiver with PVR capability. Connects to external hard disk drive to work as a PVR. The startup is a little slow when rebooting or powering up. Connecting or changing hard drive requires a reboot.
Review 16 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Scott2844
Location: Red Sucker Lake, MB
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

Good quality product for the price!

Date:October 15, 2010
Product provides a decent picture and is relatively easy to setup.
Once order was placed, and paid for via online, product was promptly shipped and received.
Overall, I am satisfied with it and would recommend.
Review 17 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dusty
Location: Saint-Sauveur
Used for: 6 months - year
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Home Entertainment system
FEATURED REVIEW

Easy and simple.

Date:May 30, 2010
Simple and easy to use. The Tech. was on time and set up was a breeze. Great quality picture and sound. I find the hand held controller a bit awkward to use; the numbers should have been on the top.
Review 18 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
David
Location: Midland

Much better than Standard

Date:January 7, 2010
Bought via Bell in mY. Free install %26 hook up was easy. Bought external HD %26 hooked up in 2 minutes. Simple. Works great with HD . The 1st HD failed but 2nd seems OK. Not sure why?
Review 19 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fedora
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Other Device

Great Unit

Date:January 24, 2011
With the external hard drive this unit becomes a PVR that is so easy to setup and use. The picture is perfect and I want to replace all my other recievers with the 6131.
Review 20 for Bell TV Model 6131 High-Definition Receiver
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Parry
Location: Brampton
Used for: 6 months - year
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

High Definition receiver

Date:June 5, 2011
Have this before. Added another TV, so bought it. It is better to buy it then rent it. More value for money. Plus Source had it on specials, cant beat that!
1 2 next»