The Source Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At The Source
Shop Satellite & Digital Converters or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter

Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter

You can watch Digital TV channels FREE on your old analog TV and an antenna or rabbit ears with this Zinwell ZAT 970-A digital to analog TV converter. The important digital pass-through feature means you can watch American channels now, the existing Canadian analog channels until they go off-air August 31, 2011 and new Canadian digital channels as they become available. Independent reviews say the picture quality is as good as watching a DVD, even on an old TV. Important features include an automatic scan to find and store the digital channels in your area, a fully functional remote (batteries included), a channel strength indicator to help aim your antenna or rabbit ears for the best reception, energy saving timer functions, English and French on-screen display and a button to switch from analog to digital channels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.264 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 53 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
27
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
50 out of 53(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Review 1 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Arugula
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Other Device

Does what it promises!

Date:October 8, 2014
I was able to watch TV again! With the converter I am able to catch about 15 stations. This is great. Thank you.
Review 2 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
keen
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: Over 64
Next Purchase: Security System

Date:June 15, 2014
This product was easy to install. I was using this for my TV at the cottage. When everything went digital, I only could view one channel. After installing this product I can get two more channels - sometimes - it depends on the time of day. When I do get these channels they are clear. I have an antenna on the roof. I have the older style TV, I don't know what reception I would get if I had a flat screen TV. It was worth purchasing for the additional channels, but I thought I might get more.
Review 3 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GadgetGuy
Location: Vaughan, Ontario
Used for: over a year
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Other Device

Quality Reliable Product

Date:October 14, 2012
I have used this for over a year and it has worked flawlessly throughout that time.
I tried other brands, but found this product to have the best signal sensitivity and deliver the best picture quality.
It also has some very useful on-screen programming features.
Very happy with my purchase.
Like other Digital-Analog TV signal converters, the price was more than I expected to pay -- but, I had no choice about buying a converter because all of the TV stations began transmitting in 'digital-only' last summer.
That's why I gave only 4/5 stars in the 'Value for Money' category.
Review 4 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JCLB
Location: Campbellton
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Nice small and compact

Date:September 2, 2012
Only could get 2 stations with it, I was hoping I would be able to get 4 as it was before they went digital. But the 2 channels that I am recieving are clear.
Review 5 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShanLeanne
Location: Grey County
Used for: over a year
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 18-24
Store Expert

Great depending on area

Date:August 15, 2012
The Zinwell converter is great if you are in an area where it works. Unfortunately there are areas where it doesn't work. If you are closer to more built up areas it's great. The Barrie area seems to draw in 3-5 channels (CTV, CBC, A-Channel, TVO) with up to 13 towards the Angus area. Unfortunately if you live in the Grey County or Bruce County area it doesn't work (Thornbury all the way up to Tobermory, and Port Elgin area). This is due to the fact that there are only repeater towers up in the area and they were made to do analog signals, not digital.
Review 6 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GaryK
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Other Device

Product Easy Setup and Use

Date:March 24, 2012
The item finds the channels via a search menu and remembers them. Picture quality is great and the remote is a must. Without a remote a person would hae to walk to the box to change channels or adjust volume. Both great features.
Review 7 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Farmervision
Location: Clandeboye
Used for: 3-6 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54

Works Great

Date:February 26, 2012
Even though we had a recently purchased flat screen tv we could not get all the digital chanels to display on our tv. This Digital Converter solved the problem and reception is great for the Farmervision chanels available in our area.
Review 8 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Melly
Location: Montreal
Used for: 6 months - year
Age: 18-24

Easy to use

Date:February 26, 2012
It was very easy to install and works very well. We have a total of 6 or 7 channels that we have no problem getting. Of course we would like to have more and the signal isnt always great, but in general we are satisfied. The manuel says it is better to use it with the 3 color wires to plug to the t.v. We didnt have them and it works fine.
Review 9 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rodders
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate

good value

Date:February 21, 2012
The Zinwell analog pass through converter is a good value and is easy to setup and use. The remote control is simple and i especially like the feature that when you change the channels a sub screen appears which momentarily shows the program name and the signal strength of the antenna. The only reason i didn't rate this product higher is i'm not sure how long the converter and the remote will last as i have only being using it for about 2 weeks
Review 10 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Earl
Location: Port Dover
Used for: over a year
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Other Device

Keep your VHS Tape Recorder Working

Date:January 1, 2012
Product Highlights: awesome !!!
Now that both Canada & the USA are offering free digital television over the air I purchased a brand new LCD television for the bedroom. After hooking it up to the antenna tower I split the feed going into the back of the TV. One directly for the TV(High Definition) and one for the Digital converter which then goes into the VHS tape recorder. Now we can record one program on tape while viewing another on the LCD. The output from the VHS recorder is fed into the Video #1 jacks for viewing the tape whenever we want. My wife is happy because she can still record her favourite daytime shows while she's at work. It works perfectly and now I can watch my sports on the family room big screen. Win/win situation. By the way, this converter is far superior to the others. Well worth the few extra bucks.
Review 11 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Swizzer
Location: GTA
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Other Device

Love it!

Date:December 29, 2011
I bought this for my dad as a Christmas present. It was amazingly easy to hook up and start using right away! That TV has never had so many crystal clear channels to choose from! I'll be getting one for my trailer for sure.
Review 12 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sop1
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Mobile Phone

Good features, needs more timer program slots

Date:December 11, 2011
I am happy with this purchase. The one thing I would recommend is more options for programmable times/channels. I like to DVR my shows since I'm away when they air and since TV is now through this appliance the DVR must stay on the input channel, so any channel pre-programming must be done through the converter. I am using the "wake-up" timer option, but there are only 7 program slots available and I have 9 shows.
Another thing: Volume tends to be a little on the quiet side, even with remote turned up as loud as possible.
Review 13 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
thegemhorn
Location: Ottawa
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Analog to Digital converter

Date:November 28, 2011
I am ticked pink!!! The product was exactly what I needed. It took me less than 10 minutes to wire up, it searched for available channels automatically and I was able to delete the channels I didn't want. All the controls on the remote were intuitive and they all worked. What more could you want !!!!
Review 14 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
This review is from ZINWELL ANALOG PASS-THROUGH DIGITAL TV CONVERTER.
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CountDrA
Used for: 3-6 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Other Device

Good quality

Date:January 10, 2012
Very good picture and sound quality even with my old antenna,
little bit expensive compare to US
Review 15 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sandbanks
Location: Montreal
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Better then competitors products, too pricey

Date:November 12, 2011
Better then competitors products, too pricey.
Features are great with an excellent OSD compared to competitors products I tried: AccessHD, Homeworx.
Remote is somewhat cheap but responds well and much better then competitors which need to be in a perfect straight line.
I am able to receive all the channels avail in montreal and only need to move slightly the antenna to get channel 35 otherwise all others are in 1 same antanna position. Crisp clear reception, I like the % indicator for reception strength and quality gives an idea of the best antanna location.Price: AccessHD and Homeworx are about 30$ cheapper but you get what you pay for even though Zinwell should be priced 70$ reg to be somewhat competitive; I still beleive these products are not worth more then 30$ unless they include a Hard Drive for recording since any external recorder will need to be set for recording channel 3 at all times ,annoying. Overall a good buy.
Review 16 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
soccerem30
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34

Simple and works well!

Date:November 7, 2011
This digital tv converter works well and is very easy to use and set-up.
Review 17 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jasmith
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Other Device

Ideal product for digital conversion

Date:November 4, 2011
We have a Toshiba LCD 42" digital which has a built in digital converter and picks up between 23 channels on a cloudy day and 32 channels on a great sunny warm day. We also have an outdoor antenna on the balcony. We live on the 30th floor in Toronto facing SW towards the lake (CN Tower) hence, all the channels. This product was purchased for our old flat screen TV in our guest bedroom and I was able to pick up 14 channels including the ABC CBS NBC and PBS with a cheap $20 indoor antenna. It scans very quick. I could probably pick up more with more expensive antenna. Overall, this product is very good. If you are having difficulty getting many channels, it's most likely due to location and the quality of your antenna and not the box.
Review 18 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Londontario
Location: London, ON
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54

Missing the "bypass" feature

Date:October 17, 2011
I bought a ZINWELL converter last month, and have been relatively pleased with it - except for an annoying habit of "losing" the channel, when I've set the TIMER (for recording with my VCR)... I especially like the fact that the convertor can remain powered-on, and by using the ANALOG PASS-THROUGH BUTTON - you get clearer reception even on the analog stations (for me, that's CBC, GLOBAL and CKCO).
I bought a second ZINWELL for a friend, and even though the booklet mentions the ANALOG PASS-THROUGH button, there is NO SUCH BUTTON on the remote for this second purchase. Same price but fewer features - not so nice!
I am ordering a different converter from another company, for comparison, and may yet return the 2nd ZINWELL.
Review 19 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GHLZ
Location: Burlington
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 45-54

Surprise!!

Date:October 11, 2011
Product Highlights: Size, no noise, easy set up, menu
Small unit, does not heat up, very easy setup. Fast auto channel scan, picked up 12 stations after about 3 minutes. I used this with a new Terk indoor antenna and could not believe the quality of the picture compared to the old analog signal.I am still adjusting the antenna to a better spot ( from my living room ,ground floor),so may even pick up more stations. RF cable is cheap and remote is OK quality, will be switching to RCA hook-up instead for better sound and picture, Over-priced, maybe worth about $60 ( like the USA).
Review 20 for Zinwell Analog Pass-Through Digital TV Converter
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
auntym
Location: Montreal
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

Short on Extensions

Date:October 6, 2011
The only thing I can say about this converter, because it didn't work for me, was that both the coaxial cable and extension cords are too short to be of any use. I had to use one of my own coaxial cables (which might explain why it didn't work for me) and use a power extension cord. Apart from that, the menu and remote are straight forward as far as ease of use is concerned. No need for the instruction manual.
1 2 3 next»