The Source Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Source.

BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet

With everything you've got going on, power and speed are essential. At 24 watts, the BlackBerry® Rapid Charger is one of the fastest ways to give your BlackBerry® PlayBook™ tablet a quick boost or a full charge. Charging up to double the rate of a standard BlackBerry tablet charger, it gives you one of the fastest and easiest ways to power up. Its compact size makes it ultra portable-and with its 90-degree connector and six foot power cable, you can charge up almost anywhere you need to. Features Portable size, designed for traveling Convenience of small, compact design with flexibility of rapid charging Charges the BlackBerry® PlayBook two?times faster than the standard charger UPC: 843163090972 843163090972 Manufacturer's Part Number: 101-1220
Average Customer Rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 46 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
45 out of 46(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Review 1 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brown
Location: Toronto
Used for: 6 months - year
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Home Entertainment system

BlackBerry® Rapid Charger For BlackBerry® P

Date:February 12, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
i had problem with the regular play book charge . The BlackBerry® Rapid Charger It charges twice as fast (double the current from the standard charger). It also use a magnetic connector so it will minimize wear to your USB port. I love the product . i will recommend this to any one who have terrible with regular changer
Review 2 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bata
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Great Stuff

Date:March 3, 2013
I bought because my USB Port damaged couldn't recharge
I like it it is quick and easy to use . I recommend those who have similar problem.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
gsmith
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate

fast charge and can stay connected to PC with usb

Date:October 6, 2012
Charges pretty quick compared to charger shipped with playbook. Very easy connector since "magnetic" so no stress connection. Frees up the USB port so can be charging while still connected to PC for downloads or backup.
Only wish there didn't have to be a "brick" along the charging cord, but guess that's why it can charge faster. Not terribly large and not heavy, so still portable.
Good value if on sale...but c'mon RIM, it's a charger for heaven's sake, why such a huge suggested retail price?! This style charger should have been the one that ships with the Playbook in the first place!
Review 4 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nickoname
Location: Guelph
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Works great

Date:March 17, 2013
Bought this unit when one of the pins on the regular charging usb port bent. As a result the PlayBook would not charge.
This device uses the other pins for charging - much better and stronger.
Does what it says. Magnets bond pretty good although they do come off if you pull to hard. But that is to be expected.
You can tell this device was initially sold at over $100. The packaging and feel of the unit are first class.
I think thesource is one of the last retailers to offer this device, so pick one up before it is too late.
Review 5 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ReviewsToGo
Used for: 3-6 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Other Device

Excellent charger

Date:March 12, 2013
I bought this charger after having had my Playbook for about 6 months, and I love it. it charges the Playbook quickly, and the bend in the plug allows the charging to continue while I have the case propped up for easy viewing or to use the external keyboard. I don't need to have the case and Playbook laying flat the way I do with the standard charger that came in the box. That eliminates an annoyance that I had with the Playbook design and improves the Playbook's usefulness. The magnetic connector in the plug adds to its charm.
Review 6 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BTDT
Location: Ontario
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Other Device

Great deal on price match!

Date:January 20, 2013
This is an excellent, very convenient product. I bought it on price match so received a great deal.
It charges much more quickly and is far easier to connect (in or out of the mini-keyboard case).
I haven't found a definitive answer as to whether rapid charging at this higher voltage shortens battery life (in the long or short term) so I'll use it sparingly until I find out for sure.
Review 7 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
user2
Location: Calgary
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Other Device

Easier to use.

Date:March 15, 2013
This charger seems to charge about the same rate as the supplied charger, but the magnetic connector is really cool and a snap to use and it won't wear out the USB port which is needed for other things like data transfer. The price I bought it at with a 30% promo code on an already reduced price made it a feasible purchase compared to the Blackberry regular price.
Review 8 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BruceF
Location: Ottawa
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Other Device

Great problem solver

Date:January 27, 2013
The micro USB port on the PlayBook was always flaky and eventually stopped working. I couldn't recharge! The rapid travel charger fixed it by using a different port. Convenient and much easier to connect with the magnetic receptacle. Problem solved. The cord between the transformer and connector could be a little longer. I don't know about "rapid", but it does charge more quickly.
Review 9 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
JohnC
Location: Texada Island, BC
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: Over 64
Top 100 Contributor

Much better than original..

Date:May 7, 2012
This is the Charger that should come with the Playbook.
It is better in so many ways. Charges twice as fast as the usb plugin one and it is "magnetic" so it just attaches to the Playbook which has a connection for it. Really simple! ..and no usb port to wear out.
Really got to wonder why a Canadian product costs twice as much as it does south of the border though -- be careful.
Review 10 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
yyzbob
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 55-64

Much faster than regular charger

Date:January 20, 2013
The magnetic attachment eliminates the usual which-way-is-up fumbling with the regular micro-USB connector. Charging seems to be about 2 - 3 times faster than via micro-USB, probably thanks to the transformer(?) box that ups the voltage(?). If you have multiple Blackberry or other micro-USB devices, it also frees up a cable for other purposes.
Review 11 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
billr990
Location: Nova Scotia
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Excellent Product

Date:March 1, 2013
Why did RIM not use this charger as their standard charger included with the Playbook? The Rapid Charger, as its name implies, charge more quickly than the standard charger and more importantly doe it without the wear and tear on the micro-USB port. The magnetic connection is the way to go. Quick, easy, and trouble-free
Review 12 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StonehouseTraveller
Used for: over a year
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

Must have accessory

Date:December 9, 2012
The included charger does a great job (a really great job on BB phones), but this cuts recharge time in half. If you use you PlayBook extensively, especially if you play high definition games, you will want this after about 5-6 hours of playing.
Well made, and I love the magnetic connector which makes it easy to connect and disconnect.
Review 13 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TechGal74
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Fast and easy

Date:September 28, 2012
Love this rapid charger. I love my playbook for what it does but was quite astouned at how slowly it charges using the charger that comes with it. This Rapid Charger which I purchased as part of a bundle with the cover, charges my Playbook super quick meaning I can get out the door in a hurry with it charged, even if I forgot to charge overnight!
Review 14 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clipper29spy
Location: Stouffville
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: Under 18
Next Purchase: Mobile Phone

Good thing I bought this!!

Date:January 11, 2013
When got my playbook bundle I had to charge it after 30 minutes because of the tiny starting charge so i couldn't figure out the included wall charger and my USB ports were full so I grabbed this with my playbook at 1% left plugged it in, it was a battery saver!! I like the magnetic part that connects to the playbook.
Review 15 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
woofwoof

Simply a must buy

Date:February 10, 2013
If you have playbook you need this charger. It charges twice as fast (double the current from the standard charger). It also use a magnetic connector so it will minimize wear to your usb port. At the current sale price ($20), it is a no brainer!
Review 16 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ReviewSkip
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Other Device

It's just a charger, but a great one at that.

Date:October 6, 2012
Highly recommended for charing your playbook. It uses the magnetic pins, so it lessens the chance of you damaging the usb port when using the other charger while also being very convenient. Not worth $70, imo, but definitely a good catch when on sale or in a discounted package.
Review 17 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bpontario

Excellent deal for an excellent charger

Date:March 23, 2013
Recently my USB charging port on my blackberry started acting up so I have been looking at getting a rapid charger .... The Source came through with the best price for the genuine article
Thanks for the great deal !
Review 18 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cheng
Location: Vancouver
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

Compact, fast, and convenient

Date:October 7, 2012
You need this if you are using a BlackBerry case. The small head and angled cord allows you to charge your PlayBook with the cover closed. It's also twice as fast, and the magnetic connection makes it very easy to attach. The only downside is you will need a 3 pronged socket.
Review 19 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DJGP

Great way to charge Playbook

Date:March 2, 2013
Have had to replace playbook twice because of micro usb problems. Switched to magnetic charger to save wear and tear on usb. Hope this will solve the problem. Source sent product quickly to local outlet ... great system.
Review 20 for BlackBerry® Rapid Travel Charger For BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Logitri5
Location: Winnipeg
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Charges really fast

Date:October 5, 2012
I was able to grab this charger on sale so it was a great buy. It was considerably faster at charging the playbook than the standard charger. The playbook battery isn't stellar so it helps to have a charger that can get the job done quickly and efficiently.
1 2 next»