The Source Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS

Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS

Have fun on your road trip and leave the navigating to the Garmin nüvi 40LM. This device features a 4.3" (10.92 cm) touchscreen and provides accurate, turn-by-turn directions with spoken street names. The nüvi 40LM GPS also comes in 2 mapping versions and has preloaded maps for the lower 48 states plus Hawaii and Puerto Rico or full coverage of the U.S. and Canada, plus FREE lifetime map updates. Features 4.3" touchscreen Free Lifetime Map Updates Over 5 million points of interest Voice-activated navigation Spoken street names Lane assist with junction view Built-in speed limit indicator It's all smooth driving with the nüvi 40LM. The speed limit indicator shows you how fast you can go on most major roads, and the "Where Am I?" emergency locator shows you your exact location so you always know where you are. In addition, lane assist with junction view guides you to the correct lane for an approaching turn or exit, making it easy to navigate through unfamiliar territory. The GPS device also comes preloaded with more than 5 million points of interest (POIs) and offers the ability to add your own. What's in the Box nüvi 40LM City Navigator® NT data with preloaded street maps for the U.S., Canada, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Bahamas, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint Barthélemy and Jamaica Lifetime maps¹ (indicated by "LM" after model number on the box) Vehicle suction cup mount Vehicle power cable USB cable Quick start manual UPC: 753759978914 Manufacturer's Part Number: 010-00990-20
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 55 reviews
5 stars
33
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
54 out of 55(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Review 1 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jollyroger
Location: sudbury ontario --ONAPING FALLS
Used for: over a year
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: Over 64
Next Purchase: 3D HDTV

could have a better batter life

Date:July 1, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Product Highlights: Accurate Directions, Easy to Use, Value for Money, Sound Quality, Size - Compact
Garmin is the only one--I have tried ALL others~~~it is the best-- and I mean it !!!
Review 2 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GuruKSikh
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Used for: over a year
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Great Product,easy to operate and does everything

Date:June 13, 2014
Product Highlights: Accurate Directions, Display Screen, Easy to Use, Design, Image Quality, Value for Money, Size - Compact
Bought this at the source for trips to see our son in NY.
First trip before this we got lost and arrived very frustrated.
Bought this GPS on sale with the extented warranty.
It was easy to set up and work very well. Every trip since has been stressfree and this has got us all around NY with easy. It took us to outlet malls that would have been impossiable to find without it. The best feature on this is the way it tells if your appoaching any Red light traffic camera. It saved me on sesveral occasions going through amber lights in Manhattan and the costly fine that would have followed. The voice command instructions are also a good feature and also the way on any road in the US or Canada it immedately tells you the speed limit and also your speed at the time.We have recently bought the same model for our son.
Review 3 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RobRoy
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64

Good entry GPS...Will satisfy most users.

Date:December 27, 2012
Product Highlights: Accurate Directions, Display Screen, Easy to Use, Image Quality, Value for Money, Sound Quality, Size - Compact
This replaces a 5 year old TomTom One which still works fine, but whose maps had gotten a bit out of date.
This Garmin is an example of current entry-level offerings, not necessarily any better at the task of navigation, but with much improved user interface, and other features. For me, the POI navigation features on the old TomTom were all but useless. In contract the Garmin's POI navigation features are vastly improved.
It took about a day to get familiar with the Garmin interface and load my address book, and I am now getting comfortable with it. The registration and map-updating process was fairly easy, but did require downloading and installing communications software and updating the drivers first. In total this took about 45 minutes.
I would have liked a printed user manual rather than the mult-language "safety" booklet which I am sure the company's lawyers insisted on to avoid lawsuits.
I'll use the Garmin on a 1100 km trip next week and then a 6000 km trip to Florida in a couple of months.
Review 4 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mikeyg
Location: Chatham Kent
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Other Device

Garmin Nuvi 40LM - Basic ....But Solid

Date:January 24, 2014
Product Highlights: Value for Money, on sale
I have owned a Garmin Nuvi 205 & 255w, as well as a Streetpilot 2610 and Zumo 550. All of these units were trouble free for years and performed as advertised. The main reasons I purchased the Nuvi 40LM was the offer of Lifetime Maps and the fact that it was a good value at the sale price. Purchasing a GPS without Lifetime Maps from the manufacturer means that you are basically purchasing a throw away GPS that will be have outdated maps in a few years.
There are plenty of mostly favorable reviews on this unit out there so I will not bore you with my take on the features, specifications, etc. of the unit. The bottom line is that everything it is advertised to do....it does. A solid, basic 4.3 inch, non Bluetooth GPS that picks up the satellite signals quickly, is easy to set up, has reasonable graphics and will offer you many years of service.
I have had nothing but great service from The Source. Shipping is fast, communications is excellent and their sales are second to none for the products they offer. If you have a problem with anything you purchase they will make it right. My place to shop in Canada for selected electronic devices..
Review 5 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PastorG
Location: Alberta
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

Great travel assistant

Date:January 18, 2012
Product Highlights: Easy to Use, Size - Compact, Accurate Directions, Display Screen, Value for Money
We just purchased this on the Boxing Day deal and are certainly not disappointed. It is replacing an older Magellan GPS that worked fine for us, but there are a lot of features on the Garmin that we really like. For one, the QWERTY keyboard option rather than an alphabetical keyboard makes it far easier to enter information. Yes, we have found that occasionally it gives some strange directions, but any GPS does that sometimes. If you don't know where you are going it will get you there. If you know a better route, just take it, and the Garmin will soon recalculate to your new route. I love the ability to set your choice of what information you want displayed on the map screen - time of arrival, distance, elevation, current time, etc. I also love the fact that this unit has lifetime map updates, so it always has the most current info available, even though it is still missing some roads. However that is the fault of the mapping company, not Garmin.
Overall, a great product. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles, like bluetooth, picture viewer, or traffic info but it does what we need, and is a good buy, especially when it was on sale for Boxing Week.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BerVer
Location: Montreal
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 25-34

Easy to Use

Date:October 27, 2013
Product Highlights: Easy to Use, Image Quality, Value for Money, Sound Quality, Size - Compact
We purchased this product for an upcoming trip to New York City, and having this product saved us many headaches. It is easy to use, with many customizable settings and a wide variety of voices to choose from. The downloading of the Canadian and US maps took several hours. So don’t expect to use the product immediately after purchase.
There were a couple of things that we found annoying about this product. Firstly, despite the fact that an exit was moved because of construction, there was no indication on the GPS, making us miss our exit and adding half-an-hour to our trip.
We sometimes thought that the recalculations were more time consuming than, just making a U-turn and retracing our route.
However, overall this is a great product, but will never replace your intuition, and logic and reasoning skills.
Review 7 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
zekecb
Location: Woodstock, ON
Used for: over a year
Expertise level: Intermediate
Next Purchase: Mobile Phone

Lifetime Maps

Date:March 1, 2014
Product Highlights: Easy to Use, Image Quality, Value for Money
This is my second Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS purchase. I've had the first one for 2 years. With it on sale, it's a no brainer to buy. Lifetime Maps will cost $89, so it makes it an extremely good deal. This one is a replacement for our last Garmin that was stolen from my wife's vehicle.
For us the best thing is to navigate through the streets of an unfamiliar city.
Review 8 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Angel1
Location: Mississauga
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

Garmin GPS

Date:February 17, 2014
Product Highlights: Easy to Use
GPS works better than I expected. My previous GPS was one of the first Garmin GPS I bought over 7 years ago so it was time for an upgrade. I am glad for the life time maps that comes with this one so I can enjoy this one for another 7 plus years and have the correct information for free. It was simple to set up and it comes fully charged. Size is great, not too big to be on the windshield/dash board and it is not too big to be seen by other mortorists.
Review 9 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Axay
Location: montreal
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Life time maps update and good sound quality

Date:July 7, 2013
Product Highlights: Accurate Directions, Display Screen, Easy to Use, Image Quality, Value for Money, Sound Quality, Size - Compact
Hi there,
I bought it for long trips to US and canadian islands. It's accurate and updated mapped directions with it. Very strong signal catch allows you to drive from nowhere and helps you to get you safer with various features.
Recommended product for purchase.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnD
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Great value.

Date:February 4, 2014
Product Highlights: Accurate Directions, Easy to Use, Value for Money
I bought this unit for a road trip. Wasn't expecting much as it was heavily discounted. But it turns out that this unit compares to the more expensive sets out there. I highly recommend it. And with the addition of the lifetime maps it's a fantastic deal.
Also, the option to give the navigation voice a British accent is a fun feature.
Review 11 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mandabee83
Location: South Shore
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Best GPS I've had so far.

Date:January 30, 2014
Product Highlights: Accurate Directions, Display Screen, Easy to Use, Image Quality, Value for Money, map updates.
This device is very easy to use. The touch screen is very responsive when entering a city or address. The display is very clear, which is excellent when traveling in an area that is unfamiliar. It even shows the number of lanes with their directions and which lane you should be in. I find this to be the best GPS I've used as of so far.
Review 12 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
emmasgrandma
Location: Maple Ridge
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: E-reader
Top 100 Contributor

Easy to use

Date:December 4, 2012
Product Highlights: Accurate Directions, Easy to Use, Image Quality, Value for Money
Am very happy with my purchase. Got a great deal! Its easy to set up and I find the voices are not as annoying as the Tom Tom I had.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AltaBob
Location: Grande Prairie
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: Over 64
Next Purchase: E-reader

Good GPS for the money!

Date:January 20, 2014
Product Highlights: Value for Money
Was looking to replace my old Garmin that got wrecked in a rainstorm when I had it on my bike and the 40LM does everything I want it to do.
Review 14 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gabby61
Location: elora
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Mobile Phone

Love the lifetime of map updates

Date:December 16, 2013
Product Highlights: Easy to Use, Size - Compact, Image Quality
My brother recommended this one to me as it is always up to date. He travels a lot so has more experience than us. It was easy to set up and use right away.
Review 15 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chica
Location: Windsor
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

very easy to use

Date:June 25, 2013
Product Highlights: Accurate Directions, Easy to Use, Value for Money
I have purchased Garmin before and found it an excellent product. I recently purchased a new Garmin with lifetime map upgrades. I continue to find Garmin GPS units easy to use and never experience any problems with it. I had purchased another brand because it was less expensive and had nothing but problems with it.
The only thing I would like to have are additional features such as traffic information and points of interest |(gas/restaurants) automatically included in the display map. It is available but in more expensive units. For the price this is the best and easy to use GPS unit.
Review 16 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PhilF
Location: Montreal
Used for: over a year
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Use of a GPS

Date:September 17, 2013
Product Highlights: Accurate Directions, Display Screen, Value for Money, Sound Quality, Size - Compact
During a recent accident, where the location required accuracy in locating a Hospital, without a GPS the struggle would have made the already stressfull situation very painfull. I am not a great user of gadgits, however now appreciate the functions and the ability for a GPS to guide and direct one to safety. The two items I purchased were gifts to my son-inlaws so that they inturn would have this ability too, in order to be assisted by this GPS in a time of need. Great Product!
Review 17 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bob1727
Location: Orangeville
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Mobile Phone

Great price and value!

Date:November 23, 2013
Product Highlights: Accurate Directions, Display Screen, Easy to Use, Design, Image Quality, Value for Money, Sound Quality
This GPS with lifetime maps is one of the lowest priced units available with many of the features of much higher priced units. The $25 gift card from The Source made purchasing this unit a no brainer.
Review 18 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DanB99
Location: Ville-Marie
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: 3D HDTV

Great buy

Date:June 28, 2013
Product Highlights: Easy to Use, Design, Value for Money, Size - Compact
I bought the Nuvi 40 LM as a gift, being myself an owner of a Nuvi 2555 LMT. This smaller GPS is easy to use and has most of the options you really need. I find the selection menu quicker and less complicated than the higher end model. At it's base price, it's a very good buy, but at $99 on sale, you can't find any better.
Review 19 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
oldtimer
Location: Victoria, BC
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: Over 64
Next Purchase: Other Device

Useful accessory

Date:September 21, 2012
Product Highlights: Accurate Directions, Display Screen, Easy to Use, Size - Compact
Bought this unit really as a toy because we usually know where we are going. On a recent trip, however, we found it quite accurate in identifying where we were and showing the best route. Even when we decided to go a different way, the voice commentary kept telling us where to get back to the best route. Announcing intersections and points of interest enroute is a useful factor also. This has proved much more than a toy. It is recommended.
Review 20 for Garmin nüvi® 40LM GPS
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mario54
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Used for: 6 months - year
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

I found the perfect GPS!!!

Date:May 20, 2013
Product Highlights: Value for Money
After searching for hours on the web for a GPS that was a reasonable price, easy to set up, had CLEAR instructions and of course good reviews, I found the Garmin 40LM GPS. If anyone is in the same predicament this is the GPS for you. It was easy to set up and is the perfect navigator. Would not leave home without it.
1 2 3 next»