The Source Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At The Source
Shop Tablets or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Source.

Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso

Transforming entertainment and productivity, the versatile Eee Pad Transformer TF101A2-CBIL is the perfect tablet PC for people who want to enjoy multimedia on the move, but still wish to have easy access to the Web, email, and other productivity applications. The stunning 10.1" capacitive touchscreen offers a generous computing playground while the slim, lightweight profile and unique pattern design give you a comfortable and stable grasp when held from any position. Features NVIDIA® Tegra™ 2 1.0GHz dual-core processor 10.1" LED-backlit screen 16GB hard drive Android 3.2 Honeycomb O.S. with Adobe® Flash® 10.1 support QWERTY keyboard, multi-touch touchpad One year of Unlimited ASUS WebStorage 3D stereo with max bass response with SRS premium sound Includes keyboard docking station Engage in a powerful mobile entertainment experience unlike any other with the Eee Pad Transformer. The custom user interface provides easy access to the many features of the Android 3.0 operating system, and a speedy NVIDIA® Tegra™ 2 dual-core processor offers full support for Adobe Flash, smooth HD video conferencing and playback, a lightning fast Web experience, and incredible mobile gaming performance! Plus, you can video chat with friends and family courtesy of the 1.2MP front facing digital camera and shoot and record incredible HD video using the rear 5MP camera, which can be played back in stunning 1080p on your big screen HDTV via mini- HDMI . When it comes time to get down to business, you can instantly turn your Eee Pad TF101-A1 into a full-functioning laptop. The included docking station features a QWERTY keyboard for fast, efficient typing and helps to extend battery life up to 16 hours. UPC: 610839379446 Manufacturer's Part Number: 4700780
Average Customer Rating:
4.655 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 29 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 29(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Review 1 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rexaler

Gift for my wife... but kids and I use it more!

Date:September 5, 2011
We had the Transformer for about 2 weeks now. Our 6 years old use it for games (PBSKids/TVOKids - Flash games, Sprinkle, Fruit Ninja, Pinball, Math workout, etc). Our 1 year old use it for anything that moves on the screen including watching Baby Einstein. Wife use it for web surfing, ebook reading, and watching HD movies/shows. I use it for offline GPS, some games (yes, wife and I both play Sprinkle also!), and movies, etc.
I find the wife and I uses the keyboard more, while it's perfect for kids when it's in Tablet mode with Keyboard detached. (Gorilla Glass is no joke!)
Playing games drain more battery (really depends on the game). GPS also drains battery, but surfing web with WIFI on lasts us over 10 hours continuously on the Tablet alone without keyboard's battery.
I really have nothing to complain. We have been using it at home, on bus and in our car. With the keyboard battery and the tablet charged up, it lasts us about 3-4 days in moderate use (games after school for kids, and ebook/web when the kids goes to bed, say 4-5 hours daily)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lorax1284
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Other Device

Keyboard layout on dock is not standard US layout

Date:June 30, 2011
Product Highlights: screen, value
The device and keyboard dock are both excellent, but in this bundle, the keyboard is the "Worldwide" version, as is the Tablet. When I went to upgrade the OS to Android 3.1, it gave an error that no update was available, because the "Worldwide" Android Update on the ASUS Website was corrupted. So I had to download it manually to install it... and found that I couldn't really cope with the non-US keyboard layout (one extra "\ |" key, and change of size and location of left SHIFT key and ENTER key) so I had to return it. I'd recommend it absolutely for anyone who needs to type non-English text (accented characters, etc.) but for ASUS to bundle in the NON-US keyboard for ALL of Canada, without being clear about that, seems to be a marketing error. It minimizes their SKUs to send only one bundle to Canada, but it doesn't make for the optimal product experience.
The Tablet is great as indicated by the stars, but because of the NON-US keyboard (and difficulty with the "Worldwide" version vs. the "US" version) I wouldn't strongly recommend this bundle, unless those issues don't matter to you.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flyfishn
Location: North Vancouver
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Other Device

i-pad and other tablets lookout!

Date:August 22, 2011
Well I wanted a new laptop and I was looking at netbooks for size. I am an Android user already so I love the Google OS and that I am not trapped by Apple. Though I credit Apple with giving us this great technology.
Maybe there aren't the same amount of Apps as Apple, but there are more then enough, for folks like me.
This tablet is for email, playing and the web. I do not use it for office work or anything like that. Though Polaris Office is supposed to be very good.
When we travel, camp or Hotels, I love being able to stay connected.
The screen is amazing and the ability to add the keypad is what reallly sold me.
We just did a road trip from Vancouver, BC to San fran and this Tablet came in real handy.
I also like that it is just wi-fi and no need to buy a data plan.
There is enough wi-fi that a data plan is really not necessary, especially if you already have a data plan attached to your smart phone.
I really appreciate the usb plug ins,mini hdmi and that I can increase the GB by 64gigs.
So watch out all other tablets, the new kid is in town.
Review 4 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EEEuser
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

efficient!

Date:July 22, 2011
Bought this 2 weeks ago at a great price.
It has a beautiful screen and the Android Honeycomb system works flawlessly.
I love the Android Apps - just as good as iPad apps (my children have this).
The keyboard connection is a little clunky the first few times you use it. The keyboard dimensions are a little different than from a netbook, making typing tricky initially, but you can get used to over time.
I had a scare with the device. If it goes into sleep mode for more than 4 hours, it enters a "deep sleep". At first, I could not get out of this, and I thought that my fully charged EEE pad was dead. However, if you hold the power button for 10 seconds, then let go for ten seconds, then hold it again, it returns to life. There is no information about this on the ASUS website or in the instructions.
There are two cameras, with nice software to rotate between them.
It does not have 3G - not an issue for me, but could be for others.
It is a very good business and home life tablet, and the battery life is up to 16 hours (13.5 for me so far) with the keyboard fully charged. If I put my screen on low intensity, this could be more I suspect. I highly recommend this as a viable iPAD option.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tablet102
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

Best Tablet with in the price

Date:September 26, 2013
Asus tf101 , I used , and i love it, i also have Blackberry Playbook, but this one is more better. Screen is bright and sharp, controlling is fine, and best part is the keyboard, which is so good to use, before I read the reviews about the keyboard , which is not so good, but after using the keyboard, I love that, with out the original keyboard , this tablet look like half, but both product are so cool, I love that.
Review 6 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Squiddly
Location: Boucherville
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54

Little bit old but still an excellent product

Date:September 19, 2013
This tablet is now little bit old, the most recent update for OS is, Ice cream, but you will obtain an excellent tablet for the price
Pros : Amazing battery (near 14 hours), excellent keyboard, very good glass and display, port HDMI, USB, easy to connect to computer, SD card reader, and memory can be expand using a SDHC card (32g)
Cons : the weight is little bit heavier then more recent tablet
Review 7 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BillyBoy
Location: Ottawa
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

Beautiful machine. But!

Date:July 14, 2011
I am very impressed with this machine. I can't believe how well made it seems. Everything hardware related to this machine is top notch. It falters a bit on the software side. My machine refused to auto update to 3.1. Instructions on a manual update were hard to find. I had to unzip the file I downloaded from Asus and put the Asus folder in the root of the microsd card and insert it into the tablet (not the SD in the keyboard) and then all went well. I am finding it more difficult to find the variety and quality of apps I have on my ipad. This is improving though. It is both a great netbook and a tablet as well. I wish they had refined the out of the box software experience, but since then, everything has been great. If this machine had been available I would not have bought the ipad.
Review 8 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CAsh
Used for: over a year
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

Great battery life

Date:September 17, 2013
Upgrades to ICS. Dock enhances already great battery life further. Great buy for your money.
Review 9 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Huss

Nice price for this quality

Date:September 17, 2013
no complain on $99, very good quality and working great.
Review 10 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
edline
Location: Vancouver
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: Over 64
Next Purchase: Other Device

It's the future of the notePad

Date:August 18, 2011
Product Highlights: i predict this is what the ipad3 will look like.
Still on the learning curve, having not used an Android-based product before. Fairly user-friendly but some things are not immediately intuitive. Apps are adequate, although somewhat limited, but I expect that more will be added on a daily basis. USB ports/card reader on the dock are a definite plus. Wi-Fi roaming could be made a bit easier. E-mails are handled well and battery life seems good. It seems very Google-friendly, which is not surprising. Haven't tested it to the limits yet but so far so good. I only gave it four stars on performance and features because I still don't know the full potential. Having said that, I have not run into any major limitations.
Review 11 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Malicious
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

Battery life amazing!

Date:December 29, 2011
I cannot believe that this EE pad has so many features that I am still learning what it can do. It has an amazing 9 hour battery life.
I have always purchased Asus and this by far is the most for the money.
Has programs that my laptop does not have, and it's so fast. This is ideal for business and students going to University. I love Its sleek design and the10 inch screen makes it so easy to see.
For anyone who is thinking of purchasing a laptop well stop and check out this EE pad instead.
Asus has always been on the top of my list and highly recommend this product. As I said I am still learning all that it can do and extremely satisfied so far.
LA
Review 12 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SusanD
Location: Montreal
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

Great combination of features

Date:July 12, 2011
Product Highlights: Value for Money, functionality
The combination of tablet and keyboard dock really extends the functionality of the tablet beyond media consumption. Both tablet and dock seem solidly built, my only complaint being that the screen is (perhaps inevitably) a magnet for fingerprints. My tablet shipped with Honeycomb 3.0 and did not update automatically, but I found it fairly straightforward to download the 3.1 update from ASUS and install it manually. Contrary to other reviewers I have no complaints about the keyboard layout, but I've lived overseas a bit and have become used to using different layouts.
Review 13 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Choco
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

ASUS Transformer 3.0 and Docking bundle

Date:July 14, 2011
This model is a WWxxx 3.0 Android. Visit the ASUS website to update to latest 3.1 Android. The upcoming android 3.2 will resolve battery draining issue.
My only complaints are the keyboard layout when hitting the return key and screen glare... If they have a matted screen will help a lot and USB port on the transformer instead of the Docking keyboard.
Watching videos with no problem. For subtitles use mvideo app. Camera quality is OK but haven't fully tested it yet. Sound quality is good
Review 14 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bigcitylover
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Other Device

unusable keyboard

Date:July 7, 2011
I purchased this combo believing it would come with the US layout keyboard judging from all the photos I saw at their website. I received this unusable Canadian bilingual keyboard. Shift keys are so small because of the duplicate backslash keys. Who needs two backslash keys?Also, sometimes the keyboard loses connection, and I need to release it and put it back on. Furthermore, it does not work well in Japanese, which I need. System is unreliable, too. I think I am going to return it.
Review 15 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOWASUS
Location: Fredericton, NB
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Mobile Phone

WICKED !!!

Date:July 14, 2011
Very Pleased !!! Wanted to get a tablet but wasn't sure if I'd like the concept. With this unit, it's like having 2 devices in one. Brought it home and my daughter got her hands on it. She was in the market for a laptop or a NetBook but when she had a chance to play with the transformer, she rushed out and got one for herself. Great battery life, very clear screen, solid construction, great functioning keyboard, reasonable price . . . I could go on & on & on. My hat's off to ASUS.
Review 16 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canonball770
Location: Comox, BC
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Great device, great price.

Date:August 14, 2012
I've had this device for a little over two weeks and I'm very happy. I like the feel of the device, it's very sturdy and has very little give like some of the other devices out there. They keyboard is also super handy and I rarely use it without. Battery life expanded by the keyboard is also a huge bonus.
Review 17 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VanTech
Location: Vancouver
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: 3D HDTV

Amazing Tablet, Best Value in the market

Date:July 8, 2011
Product Highlights: flexibility, Portability, screen resolution
- Amazing processing power, no lagging
- Experience on the Web is almost the same as a PC
- Love the keybroad dock which i can replaced my needs for a Netbook plus having the flexibility with just using the Tablet touch screen
- Amazing Screen Resolution
- Great battery life
- Great Support from ASUS, Android update is already released
Review 18 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beverly111
Location: Edmonton
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

Great size, battery and function

Date:August 29, 2012
I have had my Eeepad for about 2 weeks, really like it. It has a few quirks like the volume sometime does not work but a reboot fixes that. Lots of very useful apps, the Splash Top to operate my home computer is the best.
Review 19 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pader
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Security System

Excellent product (bundle) overall

Date:July 19, 2011
I bought this product for my wife 2 week ago. She loves this pad.
OS is easy to use, tons of applications available. Long battery life, great for travel.
Sensitive and clear touch screen. Cameras are good and easy to switch.
Dock is easy to connect and disconnect.
No complains.
Review 20 for Asus Eee PAD Transformer TF101A2-CBIL 16GB Tablet with Keyboard Docking Station - Espresso
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SS121
Location: Vancouver, BC
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Other Device

Way better than Ipad

Date:July 9, 2011
It comes with a dock that is also a battery. The build is very solid. I haven't encounter any problem yet. When docked, it looks just like a netbook. However, make sure you get a microsd as you wouldn't be able to perform over the air update to the newer firmware.
1 2 next»