The Source Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At The Source
Shop Full Size Headphones or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Source.

Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black

Get headphones designed to capture the sonic detail you were meant to hear with the Beats Solo by Dr. Dre headphones. Beats Solo High Performance On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk give you sound quality that will blow your mind. Designed to be lightweight and easily portable these small on-ear headphones are perfect for active lifestyles. The cushioned earpads give you the padding and comfort you want along with reduced background noise. Outfitted with a tri-fold design they fold to a compact size great for travel. The cord has a built-in ControlTalk remote which lets you control your music as well as have hands-free calling. What's in the Box Beats Solo on-ear headphones Monster Headphone cable with ControlTalk Travel case Monster® Clean Cloth™
Average Customer Rating:
4.821 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 28 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Review 1 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
devilspickel
Location: Ottawa
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: iPod

Incredible sound

Date:June 20, 2011
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality
I've been using my Solo for two weeks and all I can say is wow. The sound quality is insane (especially when you tweak the EQ to Treble Booster on iPods) and they are stylish. The only downside I could see is the durability (I'm not the kind of person that throws my stuff around so I doubt I'll break them). Also, even if they aren't advertized as "Noise cancelling", they are quite nice on that feature. I haven't tried them in buses, but they do good at my workplace (quite noisy at times). If you have the money to chip in and you're looking for good headphones to enjoy even more your music, these are a definite buy!
Review 2 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dave123456789

Great Bass

Date:January 14, 2012
Product Highlights: Appearance
The headphones are really good in the sound quality section, the bass is heavy but when there is a lot of bas the mid and highs become muddy. On most reviews I saw people saying that you shouldnt buy these headphones but there not that bad. For the money I think it was good and he construction of the product is better and monster has fixed all of rhe old problems. Over all I think if your a casual listener these headphones are great, but if your reaaly in to music and listen for more than 4 hours a day these headphones might not be made for you.
Review 3 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheOnPointKing
Location: Corner Brook, NL
Used for: 6 months - year
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24
Store Expert

Great sound for a mid-range budget

Date:October 1, 2011
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality, additional features
Beats Solo are a great choice for anyone looking for excellent sound quality in the mid-price range. Sound quality is top notch; the clarity and bass allow you to hear subtlties that you may not have noticed before. The switch that comes attached to one of the two (2) cords provided is extremely convinient for iPod users. Noice cancelling is very good, even though they re not marketed that way.
I reccomend these headphones especially to people who listen to hip-hop, rap, R&B, or any music with a lot of bass.
Great Buy!
Review 4 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonny111
Location: Halifax
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

Very good

Date:January 18, 2012
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality
Lots of reviews have been written on these headphones - some very good and some negative.
I have tried almost every headphone available and I have decided this are the best phones for the money. They are the perfect size, sound is very very good, the I have no issues with the quality.
The sound quality has a nice balance of detail and bass depth. I listen to rock, jazz and pop and find that no other headphone matches the balance of these.
Review 5 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MargL
Location: surrey
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Home Entertainment system

best headphone

Date:January 6, 2013
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality
Beats headphones available in the market. It is very comfortable, I can put it on all day, that's how comfortable it is. The sound quality is also great, the bass of it is good, and to top it up is looks cool, very slick. The best thing is I got it on sale so it definitely is a great buy for me. :)
Review 6 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
clapo
Location: Ontario
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: iPod

Great headphones

Date:January 9, 2013
Product Highlights: Appearance, Sound Quality
I've been wanting the beats headphones for a long time. I was very excited when they went on sale so I got them and I love them. My favorite thing about them is the sound quality..... I hope that they last a long time especially since I invested so much money in them.
Review 7 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mingus
Location: Huntsville
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Other Device

Excellent sound !

Date:January 15, 2012
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality
I've owned such comfortable headphones. The design is nice, makes them light And easy to fold up and put away. Love the cord design! Not having to worry about ruining a great set of headphones because of a cord that got caught on something. My iPod and of never sounded better and the block out noise well too. If love music and listen to your media player a lot then these are worth spoiling your ears with!
Review 8 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
swimmingmom
Location: Whitby
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

Great sound

Date:December 29, 2011
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality
I bought this item for my son for Christmas. He wanted headphones and he had to have these ones. He absolutely loves them. He has hardly taken them off since Christmas!! My husband tried them and now wants a pair for himself. He said they have great sound and they do really block all other sounds. I would definitely recommend these headphones to anyone.
Review 9 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tayer
Location: halifax
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Home Entertainment system

great sound

Date:January 16, 2011
Product Highlights: Value for Money, Sound Quality
I have bought expensive head phones before and though they were good at first I always have a problem with the cord breaking away from the head phones and then they are garbage. Dre's are great they suction to your ear, they're comfortable and the cord comes out of the head phones. Everyone that I get to listen to is surprised with the quality of the sound.
Review 10 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
delish92
Location: MONTREAL, QUEBEC
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Other Device

TUNE OUT YOUR PARENTS WITH BEATS!

Date:January 5, 2013
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality, tunes out your parents, comfortable to wear
Pure enjoyment. The sound is amazing, very comfortable to wear, noise cancelling is high quality (I can't hear my parents LOL) and I LOVE THEM!
Review 11 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ewat1120
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Other Device

Date:January 13, 2013
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality
it was my first time to shop online and that was amazing,,,i love it...
Review 12 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tman2000
Location: Montreal
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Sweet!

Date:January 17, 2012
Product Highlights: Appearance, Sound Quality
Got this headset online on boxing day for a great deal. Took a few extra days to be delivered but they were worth the wait. Sound quality is great, noise cancellation is decent, comfort is also great (pretty light).
Overall satisfied with this product. - Try it out.
Review 13 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
linds
Location: Alberta
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 25-34

Son Overjoyed

Date:October 27, 2012
Product Highlights: Appearance, Sound Quality
I bought these as a gift for my son. He had been asking for them for over a year. We are both very impressed by the quality and the durability of the headphones.
Review 14 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bboyz
Location: Amherstburg
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: Under 18
Next Purchase: Other Device

great sound!!! wears good. Very comfortable.

Date:December 15, 2011
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality
Son always wanted a pair of these headphones. He is very happy with them. Really cuts down on outside noise. He states they are very comfortable and loves the sound. Will definately be getting a pair for my daughter soon.
Review 15 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nellymom
Location: Kitchener, ON
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54

very happy teen

Date:January 3, 2012
Product Highlights: Appearance, Sound Quality
This was the only item on my son's Christmas wish list. He is very pleased with the sound quality. Ordering and delivery to convenient store location were efficient with regular updates as to order status.
Review 16 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tml67
Location: windsor
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: Under 18
Next Purchase: Mobile Phone

great sound and comfort

Date:January 17, 2012
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality
music sounds the clearest ive ever heard on any headphones ive ever had and they are by far the most comfortable pair to wear. love that the cord comes out of the headphones for easy storage.
Review 17 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
socky
Location: Woodstock
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: 3D HDTV

Great sound

Date:January 9, 2012
Product Highlights: Sound Quality
I have been looking at these great headphones since I tried a demo set at my local Source store.When I saw the sale price of $90.00 off ,I grabbed a pair.they sound so good with my ipad.
Review 18 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
antony1090
Location: Kleefeld MB
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: iPod

Amazing quality

Date:May 19, 2011
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality
at first I was a bit sceptical but wow, as soon as I put them on I was impressed and the sound quality is incredible, although it is a bit pricey it is definitely worth it
Review 19 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
head
Location: Halifax
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Mobile Phone

awesome sound quality

Date:January 11, 2012
Product Highlights: Appearance, Sound Quality
Everyone knows the deal with these headphones, pricey, but awesome sound quality and comfort. I was lucky to have a boxing day sale pop up :)
Review 20 for Monster Beats Solo Headphones by Dr. Dre - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sunnyface
Location: Quebec City
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

wow

Date:May 14, 2011
Product Highlights: Sound Quality
Great sound when placed properly on ears. I suggest using the bass reducer or treble booster on the ipod equilizer as the bass may be too powerful.
1 2 next»