The Source Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black

Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black

Get in the groove with the MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series headphones. These high-performance headphones from Sony feature a supra-aural design and cozy earpads for excellent listening comfort. The headphones have a compact design for portability yet affording listening flexibility, the swivel, folding earpads let you enjoy music in many ways. Headphone Features Dynamic 30mm drivers Swivel, folding design for easy storage Tangle-free 1.2m cable resists snags and tangles Plug into your iPod ®, MP3 player , smartphone , or PC and enjoy superior audio entertainment courtesy of the deep bass 30mm diameter drivers and high-energy ferrite magnets. Great for portable, home, or studio use. UPC: 027242867086 Manufacturer's Model Number: MDR-ZX110B
Average Customer Rating:
4.192 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 26 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 out of 26(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Review 1 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Caledon East
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Mobile Phone

Decent Value

Date:June 21, 2013
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money
The good: There is plenty of bass and they are quite comfortable. Hip Hop, dance, trance, and rock would sound decent. The bad: The sound is dull and warm and lacks highs. Although there is plenty of bass, there is a lack of clarity and definition (the highs get lost in the sound). If you are listening to music that is very instrumental (disco, soul, funk, classical, etc.) then you may want to pass on these. I compared these (using my ipod and my Samsung Android) with my Grado SR60's which are a hundred dollar pair of headphones which, although a little over twice as much, it is not much extra when you actually hear the difference. I would get these for people who are not bent on high sound quality. I purchased these headphones on sale for half price. At 19.99 they are a steal but I would not pay full price ($40.00).
Review 2 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Next Purchase: Other Device

Great price, average quality

Date:September 5, 2011
I bought these headphones on sale and for wireless headphones, they were a GREAT price. However, I did notice that it's tricky to open and reopen the compartment the AAA batteries go into. If you're not careful and take your time, you risk breaking it. Also, there's a noticable amount of background static (on and off) even when you're not far from the transmitter. The headphones themselves are handsome and pretty high-end looking. If you want to try a pair of wireless headphones for the first time or are just looking for a real basic pair, these are worth a try.
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Welland
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

These Things ARE AMAZING!!

Date:July 6, 2012
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality, comfortable
I just recently bought these headphones on sale, and I want to say that these are such an incredible pair of headphones. The sound quality is superb, they fit beautifully and comfortably and I picked them up at a wonderful price. It's worth it on sale, AND at full price. These are also so durable that I've dropped them, and tossed them around and not even a tiny scratch. Folds easily and compact so they are perfect for travelers.
I HIGHLY recommend these headphones, you will NOT be disappointed!
Review 4 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Summerside
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Other Device

Noise cancelling? Not!

Date:July 20, 2012
I was looking for noise cancelling earphones, these earphones are listed in the noise cancelling earphone section and the write up says "cozy, noise cancelling earpads for excellent listening comfort".
These are NOT noise cancelling. They do not even pretend to be. They are a decent set of earphones; my husband and I decided to keep them for watching TV when the other one is sleeping, but they are certainly not noise cancelling headphones.
Review 5 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: St. Thomas, ON
Used for: 3-6 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Other Device

great sound

Date:July 4, 2014
Product Highlights: Value for Money, Sound Quality
a higher quality product for the money.....mids are clear and highs are there but not distorted....bass adequate...very comfortable to wear and very low listening fatigue
Review 6 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality, lower price

Date:January 7, 2013
Product Highlights: Value for Money
These headphones are good quality for the price. Just looking for a cheaper set to carry around - very nice sound. They seem sturdy and the earpieces swivel very smoothly. The only minus is that the earpieces fit fairly small, so the plush ring hits all the way on my ear (and I have small ears). Great for my 11 year old.
Review 7 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Halifax
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

excellent for the money

Date:May 3, 2014
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality
these are great headphones, comfortable and have really nice sound. I would definitely recommend them!
Review 8 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Whitby
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Security System

Awsome head phones

Date:May 19, 2014
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality
The Sony head phones were a great price and have nice sound.
Review 9 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Longueuil
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: iPod

Sony quality at a great price

Date:May 5, 2013
Product Highlights: Value for Money
These are not the best headphones you can find in the market but they do the job very well. No noise cancelling but sound quality is fine. Bass is acceptable. The cord seems to be pretty strong so I hope these won't be disposable headphones. Recommended.
Review 10 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Shediac area
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: E-reader

Good sales price

Date:July 16, 2012
Product Highlights: Value for Money
For $25.00 sales price these are not bad.However i would not recommend paying full price.
They are made of light plastic and lack qualitie.
The sound is average .I use them on the computer for shot periods at a time so they do the tick.
comfortable on the ears .
Review 11 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Richmond
Used for: 6 months - year
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 35-44

Good sound

Date:February 11, 2013
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality
Bought this at a discount. For that price, I'm satisfied with the sound quality. However, it sometimes has a problem delivering sound on BOTH earphones. Manipulating the cord seems to help when this occurs. I'd prefer for it to have a longer cord, though.
Review 12 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Alberta
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: iPod

Amazing sound qualtiy

Date:July 31, 2011
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality
The sound quality is clear, bass intact and has noise cancelling ear pads. They are also durable, feel good to the ear and are fashionable. *Its to die for* I would recommend one to buy these Sony headphones.
You get your moneys worth...
Review 13 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Delta Ontario
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: E-reader

Excellent sound for price

Date:March 23, 2014
Product Highlights: Value for Money, Sound Quality
Perfect for listening to music or audio books in
Less than quiet environment s.
Review 14 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Yorkton, Saskatchewan
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: Under 18
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Great sound quality

Date:February 21, 2014
Product Highlights: Appearance, Value for Money, Sound Quality
Great product - blocks out the exterior sound. Glad I got them.
Review 15 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Grand Manan, NB
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Other Device

Good sound, bad fit

Date:December 13, 2012
Product Highlights: Value for Money, Sound Quality
I got these on sale, good value for the money. The sound quality is actually quite high. But they're a a bit flimsy and they're not very comfortable. They hurt my ears after awhile.
Review 16 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Vancouver
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Cheap good headphones

Date:August 1, 2011
Product Highlights: Value for Money
These are really good standard sony headphones and for the price compared to other similar ones, this pair really stands out, all around good quality for not much money
Review 17 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Newmarket
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Happy Headset Owner

Date:June 24, 2011
Product Highlights: Value for Money, Sound Quality
The head phones I purchased were the result of a coupon and they were also on sale-what an awesome bargain and GREAT sounding as well. Would definitely recommend!
Review 18 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Campbell River
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

Great value for your money!

Date:June 12, 2012
Product Highlights: Value for Money
Good sounding headphones, comfortable fit for smaller heads. For me, they work well putting on and off at work... just on one ear at a time!
Review 19 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: corunna
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: E-reader

really great sound

Date:April 29, 2013
Product Highlights: Value for Money
I was verypleased with the quality of sound, the sturdy build and the comfort of the ear pieces.
Review 20 for Sony MDR-ZX110B Studio Monitor Series Headphones - Black
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Innisfil
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64

Date:November 26, 2011
This is a Christmas gift so wont know the quality for a few weeks but was received very quickly.
1 2 next»