The Source Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At The Source
Shop R/C Toys or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LiteHawk Helicopter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Source.

LiteHawk Helicopter

Always dreamed of being a pilot? Now you can be with the LiteHawk Helicopter. Built with the latest technology the LiteHawk helicopter is easy to use even for beginners. Designed with omni-directional controls the LiteHawk ascends, descends, go forwards, backwards, left, right and even 360 degrees. The built-in 3D gyro-stabilizer makes it easier to control the helicopter. The chassis is made from a CNC metal for added durability in case of crashes and for added safety the LiteHawk helicopter had breakaway blades. The included 3-channel IR remote control uses lithium chargeable batteries, which increase your flying time. To recharge the helicopter, simply connect it to the controller and it will automatically start charging. Recommended for ages 8 years and up.
Average Customer Rating:
3.85 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 20 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
16 out of 20(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LiteHawk Helicopter
Review 1 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
oliver
Location: Montreal

fun toy

Date:June 29, 2010
The LiteHawk Helicopter is a great little toy . It's quite fun to learn how to control it and the helicopter can take all the early crashes. The battery of the LiteHawk lasts for about 20-30 minutes on a full charge and its recharged from the controller in about the same amount of time. The remote control needs 6 AA batteries, but it was not indicated on the box. It takes practice but in just a few sessions you can pretty much understand how it works. It's written on the box but it's really for indoor use since even a little wind from a fan can send it into a wall pretty fast.
The LiteHawk is a fun little helicopter sturdy enough for an absolute beginner.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SourceKyle
Location: GTA
Used for: 3-6 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV
Store Expert

Fun little helicopter!

Date:July 18, 2010
Product Highlights: Addicting, Value for Money, Durable, Entertaining/ Fun, Challenging
For the price you get a pretty well made helicopter. The chassis is made of metal which stands up to abuse a little more than plastic or styrofoam bodies.
Takes about 15 minutes to charge from its transmitter using 6AA batteries. Once it's charged, you can fly away! There is one small adjustment you need to make before it is ready for takeoff. A small knob let's you stabilize the helicopter so it doesn't turn in circles on its own.
It's a blast to fly! Really meant for indoor use; the transmitter is line-of-sight, so make sure there are no obstructions in the way of the helicopter when flying.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rookiepilot
Location: Guelph
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

Best helicopter value in Canada

Date:August 13, 2010
Product Highlights: Good for Different Sized Groups, Addicting, Good for All Personalities, Durable, Entertaining/ Fun, Challenging, Easy to Understand
LiteHawk rocks ! Easiest to fly out of the box helicopter my 14 yr old son and I have found. Better still when his cousin doing stunt flying crashed it and broke the top rotar part (hitting our ceiling fan) we were able to get parts quickly from a website www.litehawk.ca
Also saw some great youtube videos we found by searching litehawk helicopter. Also this was a blast at my poker night....guys who never would be seen with a toy wouldn't put it down. When are you getting one we can fly outdoors?
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SisterCrystal
Location: Victoria
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: E-reader

Coolest micro-copter ever!

Date:November 27, 2010
The LiteHawk is a beautiful piece of engineering that will appeal to hobbyists as well as first time fliers. The frame is constructed of precision cut metal parts and miniature metal tubes, held together with tiny screws. A surprisingly comprehensive list of replacement parts is available; including rotors, motors, battery, speed controller, body shell, landing gear, tail boom, and various connecting bits. All of the parts appear to be of superior quality, well finished and well fitting. Graphics are silk screened onto the parts, crisp, and attractive (compare to the gaudy, often poorly applied stickers used by most other similar toys). Bright lights on the copter's sides strobe and change colours, making it look like a UFO in a dimly lit room. The LiteHawk is very easy to fly, and can be controlled with great precision. Manoeuvers are smooth and graceful, but its stability and relatively large mass make it less responsive than some other copters. Its weight also means it drops fast and hard if the throttle is reduced too quickly in flight. Despite its complexity, the copter appears to be quite sturdy, having survived several crashes without visible damage. Flight time per charge is comparable to other copters, but charging time is longer, giving fewer charges from a set of batteries. The LiteHawk's good looks, enjoyable flight characteristics, and extensive list of replacement parts mean that this micro-copter will likely remain a favourite long after others have been broken or retired. Its low price and gentle learning curve make it suitable for children and first time fliers, while its precision engineering, intricate construction and spare parts make it appealing to the hobbyist as well.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alpine

Great fun!

Date:December 5, 2010
Product Highlights: Addicting, Value for Money, Entertaining/ Fun, Good for Variety of Ages
I’ve had this helicopter for about a week now and it is very fun to fly. It took me about ten minutes before I could fly it without quickly crashing but now I can keep it in the air for minutes at a time and fly figure eights at speed. It looks great with the flashing lights and flies even better than I expected after viewing some of the online videos. It seems very durable and hopefully time will bear that out.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RockinRog
Location: Sault Ste Marie
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop
Top 50 Contributor

Very Stable, Easy To Fly, Parts Availability

Date:December 27, 2010
Product Highlights: Addicting, Long Play Life, Value for Money, Durable, Entertaining/ Fun, Challenging, Easy to Understand
I've owned a few helicopters and will say this one is very enjoyable to fly because of it's stability in the air and at takeoff. The rotors are break-away meaning they are flexible so you can abuse this several times for example mine has tumbled down the basement stairs several times and it gets right up in the air after!
In a nutshell if you compare the breakaway rotors to those of previous models it is night and day in durability. This copter literally hovers in one spot without ghosting effect, could it be just like real flying! Perhaps LOL...
Anyways, there is also the web site for the makers of this copter located in Southern Ontario whom which you can go for videos and questions plus all the complete parts are sold there for whatever it is your after. This alone makes this a quality buy!
Have fun as I know you no doubt will with this one!
PS...the Lil' Flyer that TheSource sells is also very durable and fun to fly!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate

Date:February 15, 2011
Overall this helicopter is excellent for the money. It is easy to operate and control and is very stable in flight.
The build quality is very good but I've had an issue with the Pinion Gear coming off the motor driving the lower rotor during hard crashes. However it is easy to fix and Litehawk will supply the gear for free if you lose it.
I recomend getting the USB charger that is availible from litehawk.ca it will save you money on batteries.
Review 8 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HeliPilot
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Next Purchase: Other Device

Fun Littly Heli

Date:March 10, 2011
Product Highlights: Addicting, Value for Money, Good for All Personalities, Durable, Entertaining/ Fun, Good for Variety of Ages, Portability
I'm a professional heli pilot, thought I try out this little heli, at first I didn't think it was even going to hover, but it surprised me that this small heli hovered and maneurvered like my real heli's...I have had micro heli's like this in the past and it doesn't compare to this one...The micro chips they are using on this little toy is top notch!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jegidah
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 45-54

Durability

Date:June 10, 2011
Product Highlights: Durable
My son and I each bought one. His battery lasts about 1 minute longer than mine, but I still get about 4 - 5 minutes of flight time. Charges in about 40 minutes. Easy to control. We have had some serious crashes but they keep flying. I have had to repair mine about 5 times - one of the little gear assemblies comes loose after several bad crashes. Easy to disassemble and slide the gear back into place - JUST DON'T LOSE THE LITTLE SCREWS!. My son's had the main rotor assembly come loose, but I took it apart and tightened everything and it is flying as good as new. Once the postal strike is over, we will be ordering a few spart parts. Part of the fun is being able to repair without the need for a lot of technical education.
Review 10 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rookiepilot2
Location: Guelph
Used for: over a year
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: GPS

Litehawk great after sales service

Date:June 24, 2011
Product Highlights: Entertaining/ Fun, Portability
Have had my Litehawk since August last year and love it. Yes I have crashed and broke it but I got fast service at litehawk.ca They are somewhere in Markham and I ordered and had parts sent to me in a flash. They're kind a like a truck or car dealership to get parts from like when my truck alternator quit last March only the Litehawk copter parts are way cheaper. This copter is the best.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Papabear
Location: Canmore, Alberta
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: Over 64
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Great entertainment

Date:August 12, 2010
Product Highlights: Durable, Entertaining/ Fun, Good for Variety of Ages, Challenging
This was back ordered, but I received it before the estimated availability date. Great job by The Source.
This little helicopter is a bit hard to learn to fly, but I'm getting the hang of it., it just takes time. It's a great product and quite robust and takes crashes well, no broken pieces yet.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gorgeous
Used for: 6 months - year
Expertise level: Intermediate

Chopper

Date:September 19, 2010
This helicopter was a great purchase. Easy to use for middle aged kids and very reasonably priced.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Erks
Location: Ottawa
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: iPod

Good fun!

Date:December 4, 2010
Product Highlights: Good for Different Sized Groups, Value for Money, Entertaining/ Fun, Portability
Great fun, great value. My husband and son play with it all the time.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EddieC
Location: Bolton
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: 3D HDTV

Nice indoor fun in long winter months

Date:January 25, 2011
Product Highlights: Educational, Addicting, Long Play Life, Value for Money, Durable, Entertaining/ Fun, Good for Variety of Ages, Portability
I bought this RC toy for my son for Christmas. We did not buy from The Source, but felt that had to provide a review since this unit is nice and it is actually cheaper at The Source compared to what I paid.
I suggest you learn and practice in a large area if you can, or you may damage the landing gear as I did, but after a few flights you will get the hang of it and will have lots of fun. In fact, I may buy another one for my other son, these little units are so much fun.
I also strongly suggest you get the USB charger from the Litehawk website (approx. $5), or if you are willing to drive, they are actually located in the GTA. The unit charges much faster with the USB (in 20min. to 30min) and it lasts longer in flight and your control batteries will last much longer.
We crashed this unit several times when we were learning to fly it, and the only thing we broke was the landing, so, take your time and learn slowly.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Got2BGood
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Other Device

Excellent product and easy to control, very stable

Date:February 23, 2011
Product Highlights: Addicting, Long Play Life, Value for Money, Durable, Entertaining/ Fun, Good for Variety of Ages, Challenging, Portability, Easy to Understand
If you are looking for something of value this product is for you. I thought the price was right for the amount of control with this RC helicopter.
Review 16 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hawkman

Short battery life.....:(

Date:July 7, 2011
Product Highlights: Addicting, Durable, Entertaining/ Fun, Challenging, Easy to Understand
I have read some of the negative reviews about this, a consistent problem seems to be after crashing the helicopter during the first couple of flights the bottom blades stop spinning. You just need to take the helicopter apart and replace the tiny black gear on the motor closest to the nose of the helicopter/or push the motor down back in to place so it comes in contact with the gears making the bottom blades spin again.
It's pretty easy to maintain and fly my only gripe is the amount of AA batteries required and the short flight time of the helicopter other than that its fairly durable and terrifies animals.
Review 17 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
SirJunksalot
Used for: less than 3 months

Horrible! Don't buy!

Date:July 8, 2010
This thing is horrible. The one I originally bought didn't work. After I charged it it would fly up a bit and then suddenly drop. I finally was able to exchange it for another one...although, it took me three weeks to exchange it...but I won't get into that!
I recieved my second one and on its first charge it seemed to fly okay. I charged it again and the old problem came back. It would fly up a bit and suddenly drop! The thing is a piece of junk in my opinion and The Source doesn't allow you to return toys. They have an exchange only policy...which they never told me when I bought it and I didn't see it anywhere on the return policy they have at the store front.
My question now is how am I suppose to get my money back!?
I don't understand how the other person gave this a five star review! His review also says the flight time is 20-30 minutes. It's not, the manual says the flight time is up to 8 minutes...that's assuming you can get the thing to work.
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
yorj
Used for: less than 3 months

does not live up to the standars it says

Date:January 25, 2011
Product Highlights: waste of money
the litehawk reviews bay the store say it is the best helicopter out there but it doesnt work very good and it broke in 4 places and when i brought it to the source the guy there just tryed to fix it himself and he messed it up even more and we couldnt exchange it. this heli cant hover easy like it says it can. recomend getting somthing else. it is definitly not durable like it says after a few crashes it breaks and i couldnt exchange it.
Review 19 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
L3w1s

Broken

Date:June 21, 2011
Product Highlights: Value for Money, Entertaining/ Fun, Portability
Was really interested in buying this product. Heard great things and read/watched good reviews. I took it out of the box, charged it up, and used it for 5 minutes. And then it broke. The lower blades just decided they wouldn't spin at all anymore. I returned it, I wish it didn't break it was pretty fun.
Review 20 for LiteHawk Helicopter
Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
ek123

BREAKS IN 5 MINUTES

Date:June 23, 2011
My dad bought this for my brother for his birthday. We had a lot of fun with it for about 10 minutes - until it broke. The gear just stopped turning and it can not take off without both propellers. I took it back to the store and they promptly replaced it. We started again having fun - making sure to be extremely careful landing it. It lasted 5 minutes this time and the same problem arose! Taking it back tomorrow and NOT getting another one. This is not worth the money and is definitely a waste of time.