The Source Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At The Source
Shop R/C Toys or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.

Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.

Take it to the skies and feel like a real pilot with this cool R/C helicopter! Featuring Real Joystick Flight Control Simulation and 3CH control, it flies Up & Down, Left & Right, Forward & Backward. Easily recharge the battery via the included USB cable and let the fun go on for hours! This indoor/outdoor helicopter offers a realistic flying experience, with a joystick that looks like a real helicopter joystick. Pull the trigger to soar, tilt for left and right for direction and tilt down for safe landings. You're sure to have a stable and reliable flight! Requires 1 x 9V battery for Controller (not included). Recommend for Ages 12 and up.
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 18 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
15 out of 18(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Review 1 for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RockinRog
Location: Sault Ste Marie (Algoma District)
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop
Top 50 Contributor

BIG fun in the house...watch the plants!

Date:February 17, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Highlights: Addicting, Value for Money, Durable, Entertaining/ Fun, Challenging, Portability, Easy to Understand
Well here's my story, this copter is slightly large to play in the house however I've mastered flying on a previous model (litehawk) so that helped with this monster in the air.
Yes the copter is large but is also easy to maneuver in a small time of flying. The build is rugged for it's size and can take some pretty hard falls from the air. The convenient USB charger helps immensely at battery life in the hand receiver however do note that you'll need 2 USB ports on your PC and most PC's will need to be powered on to charge. Luckily I own a Belkin surge suppressor that happens to offer 2 USB ports on it that are always on...convenient.
Flight time is ok but alot less than the smaller nibble LiteHawk copter that Source sells.
My recommendation is to purchase both this and the LiteHawk because they both offer exceptional flight fun and each has it's own character to fly where the Interceptor is large and more fast the LiteHawk offers more flight time, super stable flight and tighter maneuverability in the house!
Oh and...I have to go and clean up the Poinsetta Plant that I just minced up with the Interceptor...yea it takes less than a second to dice and slice a house plant...LOL.
Review 2 for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GizmoDude
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Other Device

Great Heli > For Teens to Adults

Date:December 31, 2010
Product Highlights: Addicting, Value for Money, Entertaining/ Fun, Challenging
Ok, First the good..
> Decent construction
> Flies great ( with much practice )
> Great Price for entry level R/C 3 Channel Helicopter
Ok, now the bad...
> Not for recommended ages 12+ more like 16+
> User needs to read ALL instructions and start with "GENTLE" short flights, practice hovering and keeping it under controll !!
> Short flight time and LiPo battery is non-user replaceable
> This is more of a scale version R/C copter than a toy, it WILL break if crashed hard.
> Known weak points for breakage>> Two small black plastic tabs that are part of the collar just under the lower blade Hubs. If you take a hard hit against something with the lower blades, these small tabs break off, causing the blades to hit the canopy or tail.These tabs are important to keep the bottom blades from tipping forwards or backwards !
>Fly in a large enough area ! Avoid a confined space as you will hit things at first!
Review 3 for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
rambrew
Location: Vancouver Island
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64

parts?

Date:January 2, 2011
Fun to fly if you can without breaking it. Just try to get the main rotor hub replacement part. You will quickly find out why you should have bought a more reliable and dependable make. Try a hobby store that specializes in knowing what parts to carry.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gorgeous
Used for: 6 months - year
Expertise level: Intermediate

Air Time

Date:May 21, 2011
This is a very affordable solution for A/C flight time in the air. Despite a few bumps and bruises the unit operates well. I great selection.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Biskwik

class act, not a toy...

Date:April 30, 2011
This bird is not a toy. It is a very precise flying model. Flight time is short, about 3 min, but if your a novice that's plenty. If your not a novice, but are electronic savy, you can mod the unit for up to 25 min flight times. The model is made to be easily taken apart for any mechanical adjustments you may have to make over time.
There are many instructional videos covering learning to fly, adjusting, repairing, and modding. All can be found at the manufacturer's web site..
The only 4/5 I gave this little peach is due to it's infrared Tx.
What's my knock against the infrared Tx?
It would be the need to maintain a direct line of site from the Tx to the bird. If you tried to, or were to accidently fly behind an object such as a couch or chair, you would lose controll of your model and it would crash. If the model was throttled up, as it would be in most cases, and you lost line of site, the blades would still have power to them when it crashed. Maintaining power to the blades during a crash is the fastest way to break any micro chopper. I have a hunch this is the cause of most of the breakage complaints. With analog or digital radio based systems, line of site is not an issue.
I'm pretty sure keeping the retail cost down is the reason for the manufacturers choice.
note. Tx is short for transmitter
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
MSDUMO
Location: Renfrew, ON

Sucks - Poor design

Date:March 11, 2011
I got this helicopter for my 60th birthday. My first impressions are great.
I flew it outside once and had a vary minor crash which made the helicopter very unstable to fly afterwards. There are 2 plastic tabs under the lower rotor blade that hold the blades horizontal. They are fragile and you can not buy this part. A very poor design and even worse support.
One tab broke and I jury rigged a fix.
The LiteHawk helis are much better and have excellent web support. I would recommend them but stay away from Blade Runner products. Thet have a very rigid lower blade support and you can buy any part from there web site.
Review 7 for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PCNick
Location: Niagara Region
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Home Entertainment system

Great fun for my 7 year old

Date:December 22, 2010
Product Highlights: Educational, Addicting, Value for Money, Durable, Challenging, cool factor
I have been looking for a remote control helicopter for my son for some time now. Most products were made of Styrofoam and did not perform well. I saw this product and was impressed that it was made strong and sturdy. It had a bit more weight than other r/c helicopters but the lift power well made up for it. Strong enough to blow all of the papers off of my office desk. The controls were responsive and it did not take my son long to get the feel of the flight controls. It held a charge for about 45mins of constant play and took a couple of hours to recharge via the USB cable, a real plus. After a week of practicing, with many bumps and crashes, the helicopter was still good as new. Be warned that this helicopter can generate a lot of speed and could cause damage to some fragile items in your room. Recommend having a room with no hanging chandeliers for you maiden flight. Over all, my son enjoys his helicopter, he has developed great hand - eye co-ordination and dexterity, along with spacial awareness using this helicopter. I would strongly recommend this product to anyone. Especially with a price point of $49.99 (on sale), is $10 cheap than it closest competition. I ended up purchasing a helicopter for my workplace and it has become extremely addictive. Co-workers that are stressed out would spend a couple of minutes flying the helicopter, de-stress, then back to the grindstone. A fun toy for children and adults alike.
Review 8 for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
blindhand
Location: Eastern Passage, NS
Used for: 3-6 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Security System

Good Copter

Date:November 5, 2010
Product Highlights: Value for Money, Entertaining/ Fun, Good for Variety of Ages, Challenging, Portability
I bought this copter for my son who is eight and he loves it. It is pretty much a given that the blades on this type of toy will eventually break when a child plays with it, that said it took about a month and several hard bumps before that happened. I would recommend this toy but for the right person, if your not into replacing blades as often you can opt for one with the enclosed type blades. This one does fly well indoors and out and we all enjoyed playing with it.
Review 9 for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
321mom
Location: Southern Alberta
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 25-34

Alot of fun!

Date:December 27, 2011
Product Highlights: Good for Different Sized Groups, Addicting, Value for Money, Durable, Entertaining/ Fun, Good for Variety of Ages, Challenging
My kids, young and old, loved this plane. It does have a short battery life but also only takes 1/2 hours to recharge. It takes a bit of practice but it is alot of fun to fly and considering how many times it bumped the wall or hit the ceiling and fell out of the sky, it's a pretty sturdy little machine. The gears striped so we had to get replacement parts which were ordered easily enough online.
Review 10 for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
william
Used for: 6 months - year
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: Under 18
Next Purchase: Other Device

its really durable

Date:March 27, 2011
Product Highlights: Durable, Entertaining/ Fun, Good for Variety of Ages, Portability, Easy to Understand
it is really durable exept for the balance bar on top which broke about a month after i bought it. other wise it's very durable. the battery life is ok but i find it takes too long to charge compared to the flight time. I reccomend flying in an open space with no trees and a lot of room for the wind tends to catch it sometimes. over all it's a good helicopter for kids and adults.
Review 11 for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
darja
Location: Halifax
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Great indoor/outdoor toy

Date:February 21, 2011
Product Highlights: Addicting, Durable, Entertaining/ Fun
Very impressed with the quality construction. Flies great but needs to be in an open space.....watch out for plants as it will destroy them if the blades hit. Short battery life but that expected. I really like the control that you have over the copter much better than most.
Highly addictive and a must have for any R/C enthusiasts.
Review 12 for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Darla
Location: London
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Great product

Date:December 9, 2012
Product Highlights: Addicting, Value for Money, Durable, Challenging
My parcel was shipped with lightning speed. Got to love Canada Post their the best. Would buy from again. Product exactly as described.
Review 13 for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sudz304
Store Expert

Tones of Fun

Date:April 29, 2012
Product Highlights: Addicting, Durable, Entertaining/ Fun
just got this one last week and i love it. this is very durabul i've crashed it in trees onto cement and it still works perfect.(NOTE: found out that remote car starters do interfer with them and the motor will start), aside from that this thing is a blast and a half.
Review 14 for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heliman
Location: Waterloo
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Other Device

Great overall

Date:February 18, 2011
Product Highlights: Addicting, Value for Money, Durable, Entertaining/ Fun
This is a great little toy. I had a much smaller one before and this one tops it easily. Easy to handle and keep control of. Was worried it would be too big for inside but aside from pushing around loose paper its great. Very happy with it.
Review 15 for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Derek
Location: Newfoundland
Used for: 3-6 months
Expertise level: Professional
Next Purchase: GPS

Awesome toy

Date:March 11, 2011
Product Highlights: Good for Different Sized Groups, Educational, Long Play Life, Value for Money, Good for All Personalities, Durable, Entertaining/ Fun, Good for Variety of Ages, Challenging, Portability, Easy to Understand
The RC 052 Hilicopter is a great peice of engnering.you get what you pay for and the rc 052 was worth every cent i spent, and more. i recomend this Rc 052 to all young and old.I am 54 years Old and i love my Rc 052.Hilicopter
Review 16 for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
McQuick
Location: Edmonton
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44

Will break in less than a day!!!!

Date:October 16, 2010
This product is heavy and very fragile. You would be better off buying a cheap plastic toy helicopter than this one.... it will last longer.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Indoor/Outdoor helicopter with Remote Control.
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5