The Source Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At The Source
Shop Hipstreet eReaders or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader

Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader

EReaders aren’t just for reading anymore thanks to the Hip Street 7" HD Touch Screen Media Player. This eReader combines all the latest advances in portable entertainment and streamlines them in one portable, sleek device. Read your favourite eBooks, listen to music, and watch your movies in stunning HD! Features 4GB built-in capacity DRM enabled Get ebooks from KOBO Light weight - 320 grams Supports customized font sizes Built-in re-chargeable lithium battery Optional storage expanding with Micro SD card Built-In Speakers The Hip Street eReader is light-weight and is DRM enabled, allowing you to easily download from popular sites. It comes with a brilliant 7" color touch screen which provides easy navigation as well as 4GB internal storage with a microSD card slot to expand memory. Reading is always fun with the Hip Street HD Multimedia eReader. UPC: 628905006882 Manufacturer's Part Number: KOB-HS-M701-4GB
Average Customer Rating:
4.095 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 21 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 out of 21(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Review 1 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Phoovercat

Good for the price

Date:December 14, 2011
Bought this for my daughter since we didn't want to spend too much on anything out of her league. The fact that it plays movies, music and audiobooks in addition to e-books is a huge bonus for her. I had no problem getting e-pub format to work, and .avi files work great for movies. Definitely worth getting if you are looking for something affordable but that works.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
icecrystal
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: E-reader

Dead HIPSTREET Ereader

Date:January 25, 2012
Product Highlights: hipstreet
2 1/2 months old and it died while charging the battery tonight.....otherwise I was very happy with the reader. Cheap enough that not worth worrying about, as I got it to see if I would enjoy an ereader, I do thoroughly, but think I will upgrade to a better make
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scorth
Used for: 3-6 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Other Device

Simple to use

Date:April 8, 2012
Uses all file types for books, some better than others. Baterry life is great, music and movies have enough space and play well
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
justfishin
Location: Malagash
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 45-54

great service

Date:December 25, 2011
ordered on a weekend, received email of shipment and package on the sameday...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bernie1
Location: N L
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: Over 64
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

great battery life

Date:December 10, 2011
received my e- book and i was quite impressed with it and its many feathers.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hobbitt
Location: Goderich
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

Easy to use

Date:February 13, 2012
I purchased the hipstreet ereader because I wanted an ereader that did not come loaded with 100's of preloaded books I have no interest in reading. I can load it with only the books I am interested in and with Adobe digital and kobo's programs makes downloading books very easy. I also like that it is colour and I can place movies , music as well on this. It has 4Gb already and an expandalbe slot as well. It is very easy to use and like that it is touch screen. Would recommend this ereader to anyone . Found that this was much easier to use and performance than my daughters Alluratek.
Review 7 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kasarr
Location: Milton, ON
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

pure Awesome

Date:March 17, 2012
I am NOT good with technology. I wanted something simple to use that I could read books on. It was a complete surprise to find that I can play music WHILE reading or even watch a movie/tv show on it in bed. The only thing I wish I could do is turn the volume up or down on my music as I read. It is easy to use and does EVERYTHING I ever wanted it to do and more. The price could NOT be beat. I could not be any happier!! Go buy! Go buy now!!
Review 8 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
yddd
Location: Montreal
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Other Device

Good deal, satisfied, can read in dark

Date:February 5, 2012
Product Highlights: can read in the dark
Main reason for purchasing this specific model is that my wife can read it in the dark (no night light or anything special required because its an lcd display) and I can sleep! Plays videos in mp4 format. Device must be on before plugging in to computer to have computer recognize it for data transfer. I didnt mind that this model did not have wifi. Have not used outdoors so I cannot comment on screen glare.
Review 9 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
derfswife
Location: Alberta
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

Good little reader

Date:April 28, 2012
This reader is a good deal for the price that it is. You can put books on from any source , you are not tied to one online book store which was important to me. Has an expandable memory slot for cards up to 16G, Many different file types are usable though it does seem to prefer avi's when it comes to movie files. I think I'm going to get my parents each one for X'mas this year.
Review 10 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gigadee69
Location: Halifax
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: iPod

Excellent player for the price

Date:January 19, 2012
My only gripe about the video playback is that it won't play WMV files, however the picture quality is superb. If you plan on using this to store video get a Micro SD card, you can go from a mere 4 GB to 8 for 10 dollars. The ability to play music, videos AND read books all for under $100 makes this unit a great deal. Even comes with headphones!
Review 11 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Evey4334
Location: Ontario
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: E-reader

Junk

Date:January 3, 2012
This is the worst ereader I have ever bought. There are not easy to figure out how to use and if you dare ask the company customer service people for help they are rude. I got emails from them stating that I should figure it out myself and that they couldnt help me. Extremely unhappy with this and Id never recommend this ereader to anyone.
Review 12 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAMM
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: Over 64

my first Ereader

Date:January 16, 2012
This is my first Ereader so I didn't know what to expect. It works fine and I enjoy reading on it. The only criticism I have is the battery only lasts about 5 or 6 hours. I think for the money, it's a good buy.
Review 13 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
yeahright
Location: Nova Scotia
Used for: 3-6 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Other Device

Didn't last long

Date:July 14, 2012
After 5 months it died. Won't turn on, charge, or work at all. Not good outside at all, you need to be in the shade to read. The big draw was the multimedia, color and the light for reading at night.
Review 14 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ppyzer
Location: On. Canada
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Security System

easy Reader

Date:February 11, 2012
Wow this is Great . Easy to operate and very nice to read from .Even in a dark room . Music is easy to load also and nice not to have to put on ear phones unless you want to .Good value for the money.
Review 15 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CStJ

Easy to use!

Date:December 18, 2011
Wasn't sure about using an ereader but this has turned out to be a great purchase. It's easy to use and has a lot more features than the average ereader.
Review 16 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nemo0040
Location: Cape Breton
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Home Entertainment system

Date:February 15, 2012
First e-reader I bought and its alot more than just an e-reader.It was a great purchase for the price...I recommend it :-)
Review 17 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bela
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Home Entertainment system

Date:June 11, 2012
I bought it for my Mom.It is very useful,because she can read books,see pictures and listen to the music
Review 18 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
foxylady
Location: Prince Edward Island
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Other Device

Date:December 17, 2011
Love it. Love that it's an ereader, shows photos and movies. Excellent for the money.
Review 19 for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
funbob
Location: LAKE ECHO
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 55-64
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

great picture quality

Date:October 11, 2012
excellent storage for pictures and songs and books
Ratings-Only Reviews for Hip Street® 7-inch High Definition Multimedia eReader
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2
Performance: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Features: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5