The Source Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At The Source
Shop PS4 or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PlayStation®4

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Source.

PlayStation®4

Push the boundaries of play with the all-new PlayStation®4 . Coupling powerful, highly-capable hardware with seamless social, second-screen and personalization features, the PS4® offers a true next-generation gaming experience that allows you to play when, where and how you want. Built with gamers in mind, the PS4® has the power and performance required for the next generation of games. The 8-core processor, enhanced GPU and 8GB of GDDR5 RAM work together for high-fidelity graphics you have to see to believe, and smooth, lag-free performance, even while running apps or downloading content in the background. Sharing your gaming experiences is easier than ever, thanks to the integrated social capabilities built right into the system's architecture; the dedicated Share button on the all-new DUALSHOCK®4 controller lets you upload your greatest gaming moments quickly and easily, or you can livestream your gameplay via live Internet services like Ustream so you can share your triumphs and victories with friends and followers as they happen. Plus, the innovative second-screen functions of your PlayStation®Vita enable a whole new way to interact with your games, with expanded content and off-TV play via your home's Wi-Fi network . The PS4® also features full PlayStation®Network support, connecting you to the content and services you love. The new DUALSHOCK®4 controller has been optimized for tighter, more precise in-game controls with improved left and right sticks and trigger buttons, and the addition of a touch pad to the front adds a new, tactile way to interact with your favourite games. The highly-sensitive six-axis sensor and all-new light bar each add another layer of accuracy and versatility to the new DUALSHOCK®4, and the built-in speaker offers high-fidelity sound effects from both your TV and your controller for a dynamic stereo auditory experience.Using the new DUALSHOCK®4 controller, PlayStation®Eye and existing PlayStation®Move controllers (sold separately), the PS4® allows gamers to navigate menus and game worlds alike with precision and ease only possible in the next generation of gaming. Features All-new next-generation computer entertainment system from PlayStation® 8-core processor, enhanced GPU and 8GB of GDDR5 RAM provide high-fidelity graphics and seamless, lag-free multi-tasking New DUALSHOCK®4 controller features tighter, more precise sticks and triggers, along with a built-in light bar, six-axis sensor and mono speaker Built-in Share button on the DUALSHOCK®4 provides instant access to the system's integrated DVR, allowing you to instantly upload videos of your best gaming moments or livestream as you play Integrated social capabilities and PlayStation®Network support provide access to an expansive gaming ecosystem, connecting you to friends, media and the content you love
Average Customer Rating:
4.705 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 122 reviews
5 stars
91
4 stars
28
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
119 out of 122(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation®4
Review 1 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KyleK
Location: Edmonton
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

Fantastic bit of hardware

Date:March 6, 2014
Already impressed by the power the PS4 is showing. Games look and play amazing, with PSN+ I'm already building a library of free titles, netflix runs great. Considering this will last roughly 7 years or so my kids will be able to grow into this system as looking at the specs it has lots of power to spare and I won't have to worry about the hassle of future upgrades for the next few years as I would with a PC (not that I want to spend all day working and then play on a PC anyway).
I also love that you can plug any headphones into the bottom of the controllers to hear the game audio. My wife and I can now sit back while the kids are asleep and game,watch netflix or throw in a bluray each with our own headset and not worry about waking the little ones up. This is a great feature.
I have the feeling I haven't even scratched the surface of what this system is capable of, and all at a price that's $100 cheaper than their competition. Couldn't be happier with this system so far.
Review 2 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SlykeSter11
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Other Device

King Of Consoles!

Date:November 24, 2013
After waiting with excitement for two months after pre ordering my ps4...it finally came on the 15th and it was as if Christmas had come early this year! The Playstation 4 is honestly the best thing I have every bought towards gaming...and it can be used for so much more! Runs super smooth, quite, loads quick and has a stylish edge that can't be beat. I can NOT get over how amazing and life like the graphics can get on a 1080p flat screen. The controls for the system, I find, is a hybrid mix of a xbox360 controller and the old ps3 one...and I tell yea...most comfortable gaming controller ever, with no palm cramps! The mic it comes with is great and easy to use as just plugging it into the controller. But...if I were to complain about something, it would be the battery life of the controller...it's not that bad, but for the intense long gamers, your looking at 6-7 hours at best...good thing I bought a 2nd to swap on the charger to charge while I can get on gaming! Overall, worth the money, worth the wait, do you have yours? Cuz I know I couldn't wait! Cheers. 10/10
Review 3 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Varmint
Location: Stony Plain AB
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Other Device

Hardware excellent, software needs work

Date:November 19, 2013
Pros - Setup was easy, games I have played so far have been excellent, Netflix application is a huge improvement over PS3's, loading times for games and applications are super fast, Blu-ray movie playback works just fine. Dualshock 4 is a huge improvement over Dualshock 3; very comfortable and you forget you`re holding it.
Cons - DS4`s battery life not quite as long as expected compared to DS3. Also, no youtube app or flash plugin for internet browser, no friend sign-in alert, no mp3 or DLNA support. However, Sony will be patching some of these in the future.
Altogether, the hardware is excellent so far and all the system needs are some feature patches and some more games.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tea0149
Location: Edmundston
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Greatness awaits...no seriously!

Date:December 1, 2013
The Playstation 4 is indeed THE next-generation console. It delivers the best graphics and best features as well as the best games. There is no comparing it to anything else, the Playstation 4 is in a league of its own and you will not be disappointed.
The console's size and shape are rather nice and convenient. Being somewhat smaller than the PS3 console, it's easy to fight in small spaces and is also very quiet. The new design gives it a more modern look with the soft, pulsating light creating a slight air of ambiance.
The controller is one of the features that has worried people since its unveiling but is actually quite comfortable to hold and it's new features are really useful. At the press of a button, you can instantly share clips of your gameplay or begin livestreaming!
And from here on out, it's only going to get better.
Review 5 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mommy3
Location: Bowmanville
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Home Entertainment system

Quality product with great features!

Date:December 10, 2013
Product Highlights: quality
Preordered the PS4 with the Source, arrived on expected date on arrival with no issues! The product was in perfect working condition and my son was able to install it easily and quickly to his tv. It has great internet capabilities and amazing detail in the new games and system! Our household looks forward to using the PS4 for a long time and to finding other great new products from the Source!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ysg23
Location: Brampton
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 18-24

The PS4 is a GREAT system

Date:November 27, 2013
The PlayStation 4 is a great system, with the potential to be a game changer. The controller is A LOT better than the DS3 and the system itself runs very smoothly, quietly, and the games look amazing especially NBA 2K14. The fact that there are only launch titles to play and they are amazing makes me beyond excited for this generation of gaming.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlphaFadz

Great Console from a great store

Date:December 16, 2013
Was supposed to ship Dec 16th got it at my doorstep Dec 15th which is awesome..
Great console, great Dualshock 4 (much better feel than the 3).. Overall very happy with the product given Im an ex-Xbox
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jfp99
Location: repentigny
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

superbe machine

Date:December 3, 2013
Superbe machine pour gamer. Qualité du produit, vitesse, fluidité, tout y est.
Dans l'avenir, Sony possédant plusieurs studio de prkduction de jeux, la bibliothèque sera des plus intéressante. De plus, comme lelancement etles ventes vont de bon train, il ne risque pas de Manquer de jeux dans le futur.
Sony s'étant rallié derrière les gamers, la machine est conçu pour ça, ainsi que leur plans pour aider les studio indépendant.
Ce qui a pour conséquence que la ps4 est moin multimédia que la ps3. Elle n'est par ailleurs même pas compatible dlna.
Mon casque d'écoute Sony bluethooth n'est pas compatible non plus.
Mais en résumé, cest une machine de gamer, développer par un gamer et un grand concepteur de jeu (Marc Cerny), pour les gamer. ENFIN!
9/10.
Review 9 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GlenL
Location: Sudbury
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

No blue light of death!

Date:December 2, 2013
So far it's great, haven't gotten an excessive amount of use out of it due to there not being that many games yet. It's still far too early to see any major differences in game quality but i'm sure it won't be long. Hardware wise it's only slightly bigger than the ps3 slim and i'd say produces about the same noise levels. The controllers are far more comfortable to hold than the ps3's which makes longer gaming sessions more enjoyable. My only major gripe is that they made it so none of your ps3 accessories are supported, the ps3 stereo headset and the media remote cannot be used which is unfortunate because there aren't any alternatives yet, it also means having to re-buy hardware that could have easily been made to work with the new system.
Review 10 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pierro
Location: Edmonton

PS4 arrived on time and in great condition

Date:May 4, 2014
Product Highlights: it was only 400$
I used a tracking website to find a ps4 in stock (back in those days u couldn't get one to save your life) and it happened to be on the source website. Purchased immediately, and didn't have any problems along the way what so ever. Arrived in normal amount of time, in good condition, and works perfectly fine. No issues what so ever, thank you Source :)
Review 11 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Johnny23
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Great system, high potential

Date:May 10, 2014
We're in the early days of this console generation, but the PS4 is already impressing me! The system is very responsive, and some of the games I've played have stunning graphics. I can't wait to see what other awesome games will come out on this platform.
Review 12 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
firstconsole
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Next Gen Winner?

Date:March 4, 2014
Purchased PS4 as my entry into "next gen" since I did not want to upgrade my gaming desktop. Playing Assassins Creed 4, looks quite nice. The blueray drive and fans in the console are fairly quiet, I barely hear them with the ps4 sitting on my desk right in front of me.
The automatic 15min gameplay recording has yet to work for me properly, but I assume this is something that will be fixed with a software update.
Overall satisfied with my purchase, can't wait for some of the new games to come out so I can play them!
Review 13 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gamerfan
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Other Device

Excellent System

Date:March 11, 2014
The ps4 has incredible start up time, within seconds your either playing or browsing the Playstation store.
Features allow you to save and upload game videos, view the main menu while still in games and also charge the controller when in standby mode.
The dual shock 4 controller is supercharged with impact, really feel the game as it may rumbled right out of hand. Truly a step up from all previous game pads.
This is an excellent system over all.
Review 14 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jmlk
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Other Device

Entire ps4 system and the source experience

Date:November 22, 2013
First and foremost I would like to say the service at the source was great. Can't complain about one thing. I came in the store and within minutes had my ps4 and had a good chat with one of the employees. He told me about the 3 yr warranty the source offers and I purchased that after hearing all the great things the source offers. Now onto the ps4; it's an amazing system. The games look very realistic and the controller is much better then previous years. It's a much faster system as well. I really have nothing but good things to say about the ps4 and the source. Thanks for everything. Will definitely be coming back more often.
Review 15 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Madaga
Location: Montreal
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Mobile Phone

Great Stuff

Date:April 13, 2014
I had been looking for a PS4 for a long time and I was very happy to find it at your store. The console was promptly delivered to the store close to my home and I was served by two very friendly sales people upon pick-up. Very satisfied overall!
Review 16 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Browza
Location: Truro
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Sweet Graphics

Date:April 10, 2014
I just got my PS4 in 2 days before it was due and it works great. Great graphics, easy user interface. Needs more games but most new consoles suffer from the same thing for the first 6 months or so. All around happy with the product and service from the Source.
Review 17 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Oneal
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

Good console

Date:March 8, 2014
Owning both the ps4 and xbox one they are both very early and you may want to wait till more more titles on both. Resogun is the only good thing on ps4 right now if you don't count multi-platforms. The rubber on the sticks is rubbing off and the battery life is not that great. I picked it up for infamous 3 hopefully that gives me a reason to play the ps4 more. All in all will be worth the price once more titles come out.
Review 18 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maharvel
Location: Charlottetown PE
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Amazing Product

Date:February 1, 2014
The PS4 exceeds my expectations!! First thing I was amazing about was the fact that it only took 2 days to ship to me, that's just great customer service right there!!
I've been playing Killzone non-stop with this thing, and I'm loving being able to automatically stream to Twitch.tv. If you get a PS4 you NEED PS Plus, it's just a must have. It will let you play games online, plus you'll get a plethora of free games, right now there is Resogun, Contrast, and Don't Starve.
I highly recommend this product to any gamer.
Review 19 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Formerplaystationlover

If you love sharing personal info, you won't mind

Date:December 30, 2013
The Source was great to deal with, no issues whatsoever. The PS4 on the other hand is basically designed to constantly take your money. You can "buy" movies that don't actually belong to you and aren't on your HD. A lot of features simply don't work at all until you put in a credit card. Parental controls don't work unless you put in your kids personal info. Games which is to be expected are very limited, but they are either totally lame or they are shooters. A lot of the 'features' require more money. If you live for facebook and recognition of others you may like it.
Review 20 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Duder
Location: Halifax
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

You Might Want to Wait

Date:November 19, 2013
Product Highlights: resogun, new and improved user interface
Great Potential; that is what the PS4 has in droves but if I was asked if someone should buy one right now I'd say probably not. As of writing this it is lacking several, previously thought core, features and those that it does have work only a middling percentage of the time due to the shakiness of the PlayStationNetwork. If you are an avid gamer and want to be in on the conversation then I would give you warning. There are not many games yet, and the system can be broken at times. Overall, I'd recommend holding off until Spring when the servers are more reliable and the games that people want to play are there.
1 2 3 4 5 next»