The Source Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At The Source
Shop PS4 or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PlayStation®4

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Source.

PlayStation®4

Push the boundaries of play with the all-new PlayStation®4 . Coupling powerful, highly-capable hardware with seamless social, second-screen and personalization features, the PS4® offers a true next-generation gaming experience that allows you to play when, where and how you want. Built with gamers in mind, the PS4® has the power and performance required for the next generation of games. The 8-core processor, enhanced GPU and 8GB of GDDR5 RAM work together for high-fidelity graphics you have to see to believe, and smooth, lag-free performance, even while running apps or downloading content in the background. Sharing your gaming experiences is easier than ever, thanks to the integrated social capabilities built right into the system's architecture; the dedicated Share button on the all-new DUALSHOCK®4 controller lets you upload your greatest gaming moments quickly and easily, or you can livestream your gameplay via live Internet services like Ustream so you can share your triumphs and victories with friends and followers as they happen. Plus, the innovative second-screen functions of your PlayStation®Vita enable a whole new way to interact with your games, with expanded content and off-TV play via your home's Wi-Fi network . The PS4® also features full PlayStation®Network support, connecting you to the content and services you love. The new DUALSHOCK®4 controller has been optimized for tighter, more precise in-game controls with improved left and right sticks and trigger buttons, and the addition of a touch pad to the front adds a new, tactile way to interact with your favourite games. The highly-sensitive six-axis sensor and all-new light bar each add another layer of accuracy and versatility to the new DUALSHOCK®4, and the built-in speaker offers high-fidelity sound effects from both your TV and your controller for a dynamic stereo auditory experience.Using the new DUALSHOCK®4 controller, PlayStation®Eye and existing PlayStation®Move controllers (sold separately), the PS4® allows gamers to navigate menus and game worlds alike with precision and ease only possible in the next generation of gaming. Features All-new next-generation computer entertainment system from PlayStation® 8-core processor, enhanced GPU and 8GB of GDDR5 RAM provide high-fidelity graphics and seamless, lag-free multi-tasking New DUALSHOCK®4 controller features tighter, more precise sticks and triggers, along with a built-in light bar, six-axis sensor and mono speaker Built-in Share button on the DUALSHOCK®4 provides instant access to the system's integrated DVR, allowing you to instantly upload videos of your best gaming moments or livestream as you play Integrated social capabilities and PlayStation®Network support provide access to an expansive gaming ecosystem, connecting you to friends, media and the content you love
Average Customer Rating:
4.702 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(121 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 121 reviews
5 stars
90
4 stars
28
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
118 out of 121(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation®4
Review 1 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KyleK
Location: Edmonton
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

Fantastic bit of hardware

Date:March 6, 2014
Already impressed by the power the PS4 is showing. Games look and play amazing, with PSN+ I'm already building a library of free titles, netflix runs great. Considering this will last roughly 7 years or so my kids will be able to grow into this system as looking at the specs it has lots of power to spare and I won't have to worry about the hassle of future upgrades for the next few years as I would with a PC (not that I want to spend all day working and then play on a PC anyway).
I also love that you can plug any headphones into the bottom of the controllers to hear the game audio. My wife and I can now sit back while the kids are asleep and game,watch netflix or throw in a bluray each with our own headset and not worry about waking the little ones up. This is a great feature.
I have the feeling I haven't even scratched the surface of what this system is capable of, and all at a price that's $100 cheaper than their competition. Couldn't be happier with this system so far.
Review 2 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SlykeSter11
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Other Device

King Of Consoles!

Date:November 24, 2013
After waiting with excitement for two months after pre ordering my ps4...it finally came on the 15th and it was as if Christmas had come early this year! The Playstation 4 is honestly the best thing I have every bought towards gaming...and it can be used for so much more! Runs super smooth, quite, loads quick and has a stylish edge that can't be beat. I can NOT get over how amazing and life like the graphics can get on a 1080p flat screen. The controls for the system, I find, is a hybrid mix of a xbox360 controller and the old ps3 one...and I tell yea...most comfortable gaming controller ever, with no palm cramps! The mic it comes with is great and easy to use as just plugging it into the controller. But...if I were to complain about something, it would be the battery life of the controller...it's not that bad, but for the intense long gamers, your looking at 6-7 hours at best...good thing I bought a 2nd to swap on the charger to charge while I can get on gaming! Overall, worth the money, worth the wait, do you have yours? Cuz I know I couldn't wait! Cheers. 10/10
Review 3 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Johnny23
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Great system, high potential

Date:May 10, 2014
We're in the early days of this console generation, but the PS4 is already impressing me! The system is very responsive, and some of the games I've played have stunning graphics. I can't wait to see what other awesome games will come out on this platform.
Review 4 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pierro
Location: Edmonton

PS4 arrived on time and in great condition

Date:May 4, 2014
Product Highlights: it was only 400$
I used a tracking website to find a ps4 in stock (back in those days u couldn't get one to save your life) and it happened to be on the source website. Purchased immediately, and didn't have any problems along the way what so ever. Arrived in normal amount of time, in good condition, and works perfectly fine. No issues what so ever, thank you Source :)
Review 5 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Varmint
Location: Stony Plain AB
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Other Device

Hardware excellent, software needs work

Date:November 19, 2013
Pros - Setup was easy, games I have played so far have been excellent, Netflix application is a huge improvement over PS3's, loading times for games and applications are super fast, Blu-ray movie playback works just fine. Dualshock 4 is a huge improvement over Dualshock 3; very comfortable and you forget you`re holding it.
Cons - DS4`s battery life not quite as long as expected compared to DS3. Also, no youtube app or flash plugin for internet browser, no friend sign-in alert, no mp3 or DLNA support. However, Sony will be patching some of these in the future.
Altogether, the hardware is excellent so far and all the system needs are some feature patches and some more games.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Madaga
Location: Montreal
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Mobile Phone

Great Stuff

Date:April 13, 2014
I had been looking for a PS4 for a long time and I was very happy to find it at your store. The console was promptly delivered to the store close to my home and I was served by two very friendly sales people upon pick-up. Very satisfied overall!
Review 7 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
TorontoBoi
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34

Great response time

Date:April 17, 2014
This system is much better than the PS3. This is a must have if you are a gamer.
Review 8 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Browza
Location: Truro
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Sweet Graphics

Date:April 10, 2014
I just got my PS4 in 2 days before it was due and it works great. Great graphics, easy user interface. Needs more games but most new consoles suffer from the same thing for the first 6 months or so. All around happy with the product and service from the Source.
Review 9 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tea0149
Location: Edmundston
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Greatness awaits...no seriously!

Date:December 1, 2013
The Playstation 4 is indeed THE next-generation console. It delivers the best graphics and best features as well as the best games. There is no comparing it to anything else, the Playstation 4 is in a league of its own and you will not be disappointed.
The console's size and shape are rather nice and convenient. Being somewhat smaller than the PS3 console, it's easy to fight in small spaces and is also very quiet. The new design gives it a more modern look with the soft, pulsating light creating a slight air of ambiance.
The controller is one of the features that has worried people since its unveiling but is actually quite comfortable to hold and it's new features are really useful. At the press of a button, you can instantly share clips of your gameplay or begin livestreaming!
And from here on out, it's only going to get better.
Review 10 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nick1994
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24

Solid

Date:April 7, 2014
Great console and nothing short of what was expected, although sometimes my console doesn't start up on the first time around, I have to close it and open it a second time, but this is no big deal.
Review 11 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bonawire
Location: Parksville
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Streamlined Entertainment

Date:April 7, 2014
Streamlined look, easy to set up and use, great features. I'm very happy. Ordered online... arrived quickly as per website estimate, excellent customer service at store pickup!
Review 12 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chanr

Great product

Date:April 5, 2014
Great console, fast and fun to play. Though it lacks 3D blu ray support and the just went up $50
Review 13 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mommy3
Location: Bowmanville
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Home Entertainment system

Quality product with great features!

Date:December 10, 2013
Product Highlights: quality
Preordered the PS4 with the Source, arrived on expected date on arrival with no issues! The product was in perfect working condition and my son was able to install it easily and quickly to his tv. It has great internet capabilities and amazing detail in the new games and system! Our household looks forward to using the PS4 for a long time and to finding other great new products from the Source!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hedghog1
Location: Donnelly
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Love the new PS4

Date:March 30, 2014
So far I couldn't ask for a better gaming system. I'm just in love with this new console. From the look of it to the features it has definitely impressed me all around. I'm extremely satisfied with this purchase.
Review 15 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
firstconsole
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Next Gen Winner?

Date:March 4, 2014
Purchased PS4 as my entry into "next gen" since I did not want to upgrade my gaming desktop. Playing Assassins Creed 4, looks quite nice. The blueray drive and fans in the console are fairly quiet, I barely hear them with the ps4 sitting on my desk right in front of me.
The automatic 15min gameplay recording has yet to work for me properly, but I assume this is something that will be fixed with a software update.
Overall satisfied with my purchase, can't wait for some of the new games to come out so I can play them!
Review 16 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gamerfan
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Other Device

Excellent System

Date:March 11, 2014
The ps4 has incredible start up time, within seconds your either playing or browsing the Playstation store.
Features allow you to save and upload game videos, view the main menu while still in games and also charge the controller when in standby mode.
The dual shock 4 controller is supercharged with impact, really feel the game as it may rumbled right out of hand. Truly a step up from all previous game pads.
This is an excellent system over all.
Review 17 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlphaFadz

Great Console from a great store

Date:December 16, 2013
Was supposed to ship Dec 16th got it at my doorstep Dec 15th which is awesome..
Great console, great Dualshock 4 (much better feel than the 3).. Overall very happy with the product given Im an ex-Xbox
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ysg23
Location: Brampton
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 18-24

The PS4 is a GREAT system

Date:November 27, 2013
The PlayStation 4 is a great system, with the potential to be a game changer. The controller is A LOT better than the DS3 and the system itself runs very smoothly, quietly, and the games look amazing especially NBA 2K14. The fact that there are only launch titles to play and they are amazing makes me beyond excited for this generation of gaming.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Oneal
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

Good console

Date:March 8, 2014
Owning both the ps4 and xbox one they are both very early and you may want to wait till more more titles on both. Resogun is the only good thing on ps4 right now if you don't count multi-platforms. The rubber on the sticks is rubbing off and the battery life is not that great. I picked it up for infamous 3 hopefully that gives me a reason to play the ps4 more. All in all will be worth the price once more titles come out.
Review 20 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
terl
Location: Winnipeg
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Other Device

PS4 regular bundle is awesome!!!!

Date:March 7, 2014
I was super fortunate to be able to purchase this fine product. I did not have to buy a bundle with a game that i did not like, nor did i have to buy an extra controller (i play online, and if a friend wants to play, he can bring his controller over).
Super thanks Source for offering the basic bundle and not trying to gouge us like the competition does with their over priced bundles!!!
1 2 3 4 5 next»