The Source Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At The Source
Shop PS4 or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PlayStation®4

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Source.

PlayStation®4

Push the boundaries of play with the all-new PlayStation®4 . Coupling powerful, highly-capable hardware with seamless social, second-screen and personalization features, the PS4® offers a true next-generation gaming experience that allows you to play when, where and how you want. Built with gamers in mind, the PS4® has the power and performance required for the next generation of games. The 8-core processor, enhanced GPU and 8GB of GDDR5 RAM work together for high-fidelity graphics you have to see to believe, and smooth, lag-free performance, even while running apps or downloading content in the background. Sharing your gaming experiences is easier than ever, thanks to the integrated social capabilities built right into the system's architecture; the dedicated Share button on the all-new DUALSHOCK®4 controller lets you upload your greatest gaming moments quickly and easily, or you can livestream your gameplay via live Internet services like Ustream so you can share your triumphs and victories with friends and followers as they happen. Plus, the innovative second-screen functions of your PlayStation®Vita enable a whole new way to interact with your games, with expanded content and off-TV play via your home's Wi-Fi network . The PS4® also features full PlayStation®Network support, connecting you to the content and services you love. The new DUALSHOCK®4 controller has been optimized for tighter, more precise in-game controls with improved left and right sticks and trigger buttons, and the addition of a touch pad to the front adds a new, tactile way to interact with your favourite games. The highly-sensitive six-axis sensor and all-new light bar each add another layer of accuracy and versatility to the new DUALSHOCK®4, and the built-in speaker offers high-fidelity sound effects from both your TV and your controller for a dynamic stereo auditory experience.Using the new DUALSHOCK®4 controller, PlayStation®Eye and existing PlayStation®Move controllers (sold separately), the PS4® allows gamers to navigate menus and game worlds alike with precision and ease only possible in the next generation of gaming. Features All-new next-generation computer entertainment system from PlayStation® 8-core processor, enhanced GPU and 8GB of GDDR5 RAM provide high-fidelity graphics and seamless, lag-free multi-tasking New DUALSHOCK®4 controller features tighter, more precise sticks and triggers, along with a built-in light bar, six-axis sensor and mono speaker Built-in Share button on the DUALSHOCK®4 provides instant access to the system's integrated DVR, allowing you to instantly upload videos of your best gaming moments or livestream as you play Integrated social capabilities and PlayStation®Network support provide access to an expansive gaming ecosystem, connecting you to friends, media and the content you love
Average Customer Rating:
4.698 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 119 reviews
5 stars
88
4 stars
28
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
116 out of 119(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation®4
Review 1 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KyleK
Location: Edmonton
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Digital Camera / Camcorder

Fantastic bit of hardware

Date:March 6, 2014
Already impressed by the power the PS4 is showing. Games look and play amazing, with PSN+ I'm already building a library of free titles, netflix runs great. Considering this will last roughly 7 years or so my kids will be able to grow into this system as looking at the specs it has lots of power to spare and I won't have to worry about the hassle of future upgrades for the next few years as I would with a PC (not that I want to spend all day working and then play on a PC anyway).
I also love that you can plug any headphones into the bottom of the controllers to hear the game audio. My wife and I can now sit back while the kids are asleep and game,watch netflix or throw in a bluray each with our own headset and not worry about waking the little ones up. This is a great feature.
I have the feeling I haven't even scratched the surface of what this system is capable of, and all at a price that's $100 cheaper than their competition. Couldn't be happier with this system so far.
Review 2 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
TorontoBoi
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34

Great response time

Date:April 17, 2014
This system is much better than the PS3. This is a must have if you are a gamer.
Review 3 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Madaga
Location: Montreal
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Mobile Phone

Great Stuff

Date:April 13, 2014
I had been looking for a PS4 for a long time and I was very happy to find it at your store. The console was promptly delivered to the store close to my home and I was served by two very friendly sales people upon pick-up. Very satisfied overall!
Review 4 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Browza
Location: Truro
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Sweet Graphics

Date:April 10, 2014
I just got my PS4 in 2 days before it was due and it works great. Great graphics, easy user interface. Needs more games but most new consoles suffer from the same thing for the first 6 months or so. All around happy with the product and service from the Source.
Review 5 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nick1994
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24

Solid

Date:April 7, 2014
Great console and nothing short of what was expected, although sometimes my console doesn't start up on the first time around, I have to close it and open it a second time, but this is no big deal.
Review 6 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bonawire
Location: Parksville
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Streamlined Entertainment

Date:April 7, 2014
Streamlined look, easy to set up and use, great features. I'm very happy. Ordered online... arrived quickly as per website estimate, excellent customer service at store pickup!
Review 7 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chanr

Great product

Date:April 5, 2014
Great console, fast and fun to play. Though it lacks 3D blu ray support and the just went up $50
Review 8 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hedghog1
Location: Donnelly
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Love the new PS4

Date:March 30, 2014
So far I couldn't ask for a better gaming system. I'm just in love with this new console. From the look of it to the features it has definitely impressed me all around. I'm extremely satisfied with this purchase.
Review 9 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gamerfan
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Other Device

Excellent System

Date:March 11, 2014
The ps4 has incredible start up time, within seconds your either playing or browsing the Playstation store.
Features allow you to save and upload game videos, view the main menu while still in games and also charge the controller when in standby mode.
The dual shock 4 controller is supercharged with impact, really feel the game as it may rumbled right out of hand. Truly a step up from all previous game pads.
This is an excellent system over all.
Review 10 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SlykeSter11
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Other Device

King Of Consoles!

Date:November 24, 2013
After waiting with excitement for two months after pre ordering my ps4...it finally came on the 15th and it was as if Christmas had come early this year! The Playstation 4 is honestly the best thing I have every bought towards gaming...and it can be used for so much more! Runs super smooth, quite, loads quick and has a stylish edge that can't be beat. I can NOT get over how amazing and life like the graphics can get on a 1080p flat screen. The controls for the system, I find, is a hybrid mix of a xbox360 controller and the old ps3 one...and I tell yea...most comfortable gaming controller ever, with no palm cramps! The mic it comes with is great and easy to use as just plugging it into the controller. But...if I were to complain about something, it would be the battery life of the controller...it's not that bad, but for the intense long gamers, your looking at 6-7 hours at best...good thing I bought a 2nd to swap on the charger to charge while I can get on gaming! Overall, worth the money, worth the wait, do you have yours? Cuz I know I couldn't wait! Cheers. 10/10
Review 11 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
firstconsole
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Next Gen Winner?

Date:March 4, 2014
Purchased PS4 as my entry into "next gen" since I did not want to upgrade my gaming desktop. Playing Assassins Creed 4, looks quite nice. The blueray drive and fans in the console are fairly quiet, I barely hear them with the ps4 sitting on my desk right in front of me.
The automatic 15min gameplay recording has yet to work for me properly, but I assume this is something that will be fixed with a software update.
Overall satisfied with my purchase, can't wait for some of the new games to come out so I can play them!
Review 12 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Oneal
Location: Toronto
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

Good console

Date:March 8, 2014
Owning both the ps4 and xbox one they are both very early and you may want to wait till more more titles on both. Resogun is the only good thing on ps4 right now if you don't count multi-platforms. The rubber on the sticks is rubbing off and the battery life is not that great. I picked it up for infamous 3 hopefully that gives me a reason to play the ps4 more. All in all will be worth the price once more titles come out.
Review 13 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NabilBurnaby
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Good Machine

Date:March 14, 2014
As expected. Great machine.
Can't play video files from USB or HDD like on PS3. Disappointed to not have this feature available.
Review 14 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baper613
Location: Ottawa
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Mobile Phone

Great bang for buck

Date:March 11, 2014
This is a great system you cannot build a better computer for the price point. This is the next generation of gaming and the graphics alone will amaze you. Do not fall for XBox One it runs all its games at 720p compared to this 1080. Grab one while you can!
Review 15 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
terl
Location: Winnipeg
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Other Device

PS4 regular bundle is awesome!!!!

Date:March 7, 2014
I was super fortunate to be able to purchase this fine product. I did not have to buy a bundle with a game that i did not like, nor did i have to buy an extra controller (i play online, and if a friend wants to play, he can bring his controller over).
Super thanks Source for offering the basic bundle and not trying to gouge us like the competition does with their over priced bundles!!!
Review 16 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
mozhuakenyao
Used for: less than 3 months
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

No games

Date:March 9, 2014
Don't buy this console now, the only exclusive games on PS4 are Knack and Killzone, and Killzone is horrible after chapter 7. The most time I find I have no games to play on PS4.
The controller's battery life is also terrible, what can I do with a 4-hour-battery life controller? Can't even play with my friends all night!
Disappointed
Review 17 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zigi1963
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

great overall console

Date:March 8, 2014
This is a long awaited console that delivers great console functionality at a reasonable cost compared to the competition. Although getting one on release day was next to impossible a bit of patience paid off and I can finally enjoy it. Now let's hope for numerous title to be issued that will use the full potential of this great console.
Review 18 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RealMacphisto
Location: Edmonton
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: 3D HDTV

Excellent Console

Date:March 12, 2014
I was hesitant to take the plunge into next-gen so early, knowing that the first few months after a console's release are usually plagued by a lack of truly worthwhile titles, as well as bare-bones, buggy system software. I'm glad I did, though.
There are issues, some bigger than others. No 3D Blu Ray support, a lack of support for streaming, an inability to disable the battery-draining light on the controller, etc. Hopefully the rumors are true, and these issues will be addressed in a future update. Sony had a pretty good track record for improving the PS3 as time went by, so I am willing to give them the benefit of the doubt that this will change. Notwithstanding these gripes, it's important to remember that the Xbox One also has its issues. These systems are still in their infancy, and a little patience can go a long way when choosing to become an early adopter.
It's impossible to judge the system now based on what it will be, though. Is it worth the money now? For me, the answer is a resounding yes. The visual upgrade is significant, even though the games available right now really don't amount to much more than ports from current-gen games with improved graphics. Tomb Raider and FIFA 14 both benefit appreciably from the upgrade. The system is also noticeably faster than the PS3, and the ability to start playing a game before it is fully installed is a nice touch. The biggest selling point for me was Playstation Plus. The added value that comes with spending the extra $50 for the service is immense. The best part is that I only need the one account for both the PS3 and the PS4, and that some of the titles and DLC so far carry over from one system to the other. If the service on PS4 ends up being even half as worthwhile as it has been on PS3, it should be a system seller all by itself.
Review 19 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Location: Herbert
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44

Close to 5 Stars, but not quite there

Date:March 15, 2014
Well, as with any new electronic device, there are bound to be issues. The first one I received had the GPU go bad in an hour with artifacting on the screen, again this was only after the first hour of use. I called the source customer support and let them know, the rep was very friendly and assured me I will be taken care of. Within a week a new console was shipped to my store of choice, no cost to me. Excellent customer service in my opinion.
The replacement console, arrived I just gave them the defective one and was on my way back home to test it out.
This one has been flawless for the last week of usage, so I do not foresee any issues. TheSource even included a $25 Gift Card for my troubles, was not expected, but kudos again to them....very nice.
The PS4 is quite the powerful machine, how they cram so much power into that little box is amazing. It is quiet, and the three games I bought for it so far (Assissin's Creed IV Black Flag, Killzone : Shadow Fall, and Need For Speed Rivals) all look amazing and I am sure in time, games will only get better.
The controller is very comfortable to hold compared to my PS3 one. Overall I prefer the PS4 controller, it just feels better and more refined.
Although I have Cat5e run throughout my house, the Wireless N on the PS4 from my testing works perfectly fine, no extreme lag on my end and videos streamed from Netflix perfect.
I, of course upgraded the hard drive to a 1TB and it was an easy process. The first PS4 had a Hitachi Stock Hard drive, and my new one had the awesome Samsung. Will upgrade to a 2TB in the future.
Hopefully DLNA will be brought back so I can stream my Videos and Music from my QNAP NAS to my PS4. I knew it did not support DLNA when I purchased it, and that was not a deal breaker for me, as I use my PS3 or Xbox 360 for streaming off my NAS now , but would be 5 Stars if/when Sony brings DLNA to the PS4.
All in all, I am very impressed with my PlayStation 4. it is quiet, the UI is very fast to navigate, Games look amazing (then again, look at exclusives on the PS3, The Last of Us, Beyond : Two Souls, Uncharted series, Heavy Rain, etc..all the best looking games I have played on any console), and I feel the exclusives that will be on the PS4 will look even better.
Review 20 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
zzzz

Buy at futureshop/bestbuy/sony for new, sealed box

Date:March 6, 2014
It has clearly been open when it arrived. However it looked new as everything was still in it's packaging. At least the previous owner took the time to do a factor reset on it if it was used.
1 2 3 4 5 next»