The Source Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At The Source
Shop PS4 or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PlayStation®4

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Source.

PlayStation®4

Push the boundaries of play with the all-new PlayStation®4. Coupling powerful, highly-capable hardware with seamless social, second-screen and personalization features, the PS4™ offers a true next-generation gaming experience that allows you to play when, where and how you want. Built with gamers in mind, the PS4™ has the power and performance required for the next generation of games. The 8-core processor, enhanced GPU and 8GB of GDDR5 RAM work together for high-fidelity graphics you have to see to believe, and smooth, lag-free performance, even while running apps or downloading content in the background. Sharing your gaming experiences is easier than ever, thanks to the integrated social capabilities built right into the system’s architecture; the dedicated Share button on the all-new DUALSHOCK®4 controller lets you upload your greatest gaming moments quickly and easily, or you can livestream your gameplay via live Internet services like Ustream so you can share your triumphs and victories with friends and followers as they happen. Plus, the innovative second-screen functions of your PlayStation®Vita enable a whole new way to interact with your games, with expanded content and off-TV play via your home’s Wi-Fi network . The PS4™ also features full PlayStation®Network support, connecting you to the content and services you love. The new DUALSHOCK®4 controller has been optimized for tighter, more precise in-game controls with improved left and right sticks and trigger buttons, and the addition of a touch pad to the front adds a new, tactile way to interact with your favourite games. The highly-sensitive six-axis sensor and all-new light bar each add another layer of accuracy and versatility to the new DUALSHOCK®4, and the built-in speaker offers high-fidelity sound effects from both your TV and your controller for a dynamic stereo auditory experience. Using the new DUALSHOCK®4 controller, PlayStation®Eye and existing PlayStation®Move controllers (sold separately), the PS4™ allows gamers to navigate menus and game worlds alike with precision and ease only possible in the next generation of gaming. Features All-new next-generation computer entertainment system from PlayStation® 8-core processor, enhanced GPU and 8GB of GDDR5 RAM provide high-fidelity graphics and seamless, lag-free multi-tasking New DUALSHOCK®4 controller features tighter, more precise sticks and triggers, along with a built-in light bar, six-axis sensor and stereo speaker Built-in Share button on the DUALSHOCK®4 provides instant access to the system’s integrated DVR, allowing you to instantly upload videos of your best gaming moments or livestream as you play Integrated social capabilities and PlayStation®Network support provide access to an expansive gaming ecosystem, connecting you to friends, media and the content you love A $50 deposit must be paid for each console ordered. Your credit card will be charged full retail price including any applicable taxes, once unit is available and order has shipped. For refunds/returns, please see our return policy . Offer available on a first come, first served basis; while supplies last.
Average Customer Rating:
4.708 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 24 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
23 out of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation®4
Review 1 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sinedexer
Location: Calgary
Top 100 Contributor

If you are sitting on the fence...

Date:October 1, 2013
Go to the PSN Store, and download the HD versions of Battlefield 4 Demo Videos. There is a Frostbite 3 (Dice's new engine for the PS4) demo video that might help you decide....
Detail in enemy eyeballs ?
Dynamic water battles ?
"levolution"
wind thinking for itself ?
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Review 2 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BWhite
Location: Brandon
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Play Station 4 Life

Date:December 15, 2013
I love my PS4. It can only get better and will surely be around for a long time.
Review 3 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JYork

Easy Purchase

Date:November 11, 2013
I haven't actually received the PS4, as it obviously comes out November 15. But I did do the pre-order & a week later paid the full balance left through the phone, I'd say the customer service is excellent and that I had no problems purchasing online. I like that they send you updates and emails. Would purchase again online!
Review 4 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Stretch15
Location: Cape Breton
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

Dosent Work

Date:November 17, 2013
We reserved our unit online, the Process was not seamless like it should be with an online order. we Received our PS4 and have to return it too the Store, It Doesn't work. Not good for a New Product.
Review 5 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
powerpuff
Location: Chatham-Kent
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Blu-ray / HDTV

great entertainment value

Date:November 16, 2013
This is a great gaming console for the entire family. Hours of fun and entertainment value. Highly suggest in purchasing a PS4 for Christmas.
Review 6 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smottob
Location: Kamloops
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Good deal

Date:November 11, 2013
Awesome console and games for a decent price. Excited about all of the services and online gaming.
Review 7 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kevo
Location: newtonville
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Other Device

Date:November 2, 2013
great service order was fast and easy. and online help was great also...
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
jillyrp
Location: Orillia
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Laptop / Desktop

exciting piece of gaming equipment

Date:October 31, 2013
Great addition to the playstation family. Excited to begin using it!
Review 9 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mckay425
Location: Saskatchewan
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Intermediate
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Top gift of 2013

Date:October 22, 2013
New concept, new gaming platform, upgrades for already purchased ps3 games available for affordable price. Overall console great price just in time for xmas.
Review 10 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DDog
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: Under 18
Next Purchase: Mobile Phone

Awesome Gaming Console.

Date:October 17, 2013
Sony has perfected this gaming console to do everything amazing.
Review 11 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CoolOuze
Location: Drummondville
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Mobile Phone

The futur of Sony Playstation 4. StateOfTheArt!

Date:September 12, 2013
Smart, powerful and fun console with fun new games! The world's best game system.
Review 12 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Semmy
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: Other Device

I have not received yet.

Date:July 22, 2013
This is on Pre-order. I can say, the process to put on pre order went very well.
Review 13 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Justlikeme
Location: K-town
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 25-34
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

powerful and sleek!

Date:July 6, 2013
With the recent unveiling of the system and specs. The PS4 is going to be the most powerful and sleekest console available. I can't wait for it.
Review 14 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 45-54
Next Purchase: Gaming Console
Store Expert

A Beautiful Machine

Date:June 29, 2013
Sony gave me one before it came out and I absolutley love this.
I can play basketball and play this at the same time. And is this baby powerful.
Thank You TheSource.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JBro
Location: Ottawa
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Beginner
Age: 35-44
Next Purchase: 3D HDTV

CAN'T WAIT!!!!

Date:July 2, 2013
I can't wait to play the PS4, was soooo pumped when i saw it was actually affordable! come on DEC 1
Review 16 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
habs89

Great system

Date:June 25, 2013
Not out yet but read lots of good things about the ps4 for the price its worth it going to be an amazing system.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PlayStation®4
Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PSAbe
Location: New Westminster
Used for: less than 3 months
Expertise level: Professional
Age: 18-24
Next Purchase: Gaming Console

Sony doesn't disappoint.

Date:July 2, 2013
Although the PS4 has yet to be released, I know that Sony will not disappoint. Based on their launch titles, which are currently Knack, Killzone Shadow Fall and Drive Club in terms of first party, the PS4 as a good amount of quality titles already being released within only the first day of its launch. Along with those comes Assassins Creed IV, Watch Dogs and a few more third party titles releasing in the Fall, also on day one. I know nothing for sure about the console yet, but here is why I gave the above ratings in terms of features, quality and value for money.
Features, let me start off by saying although the online is now paid, PS+ is worth more than the $60 you put in. Sony has a service called the instant game collection, which will supply you with games as long as you are subscribed to PS+, but here's the catch, you will only be allowed to continue use them if you are continuously subscribed to PS+. However, this is really no problem as Sony has, in the past year, given away $1,000 worth of games in the instant game collection and you only have to pay $60 a year to continue the subscription, which will also apply to your other Sony consoles (PSVITA, PSP and PS3). I also look forward to seeing the many Indie games, as Sony has bought quite a few Indie game developers, to be released under the instant game collection service, one of these games is a horror game called Outlast. Furthermore, I can see that Sony has to compete with the online service that Microsoft is providing, and by making users pay, this will allow Sony to improve their servers and PS+ services for users. But users are not required to have PS+ to simply connect to the Internet or download games, only to play online.
In terms of quality, no matter how lacking a Sony console is in games library, the system is always of quality. Whether its the PS3 in its early days with only a few games or the PSVITA now with a weak library, both pieces of hardware are impressive and do not leave more to be desired. Sony is able to package whatever it can into its consoles, while still maintaining good design and overall function. And, in terms of console, even though I glossed over it before, games are important for quality. With only good feel of the controls and build of hardware you get 3 stars, but with the addition of great launch games and a great online service, I must applaud Sony and give them the full five stars.
Now finally, in terms of the value for my money. For a system as powerful as the PS4, one that can actually rival some gaming PCs (Maybe not the top tier) it comes at a good price, especially for a brand new game system. $400 isn't asking much, and considering Sony could have packed the PlayStation EYE with the console and made business better for itself by selling the console for $460-$500, they decided to beat out the Xbox One in terms of this and provide stronger hardware with a batter price, at the cost of their PlayStation EYE product.
At this point, I feel that Sony, comparing it to only Microsoft, is more for the gamers. It allows for the best bang for your buck and I hope the PS4 will not disappoint and will not feel lacking, and I hope the scores I gave it are accurate from now and throughout its whole life cycle.
P.S. - I forgot to mention that Sony has 30 exclusive games in development, 12 new IPs, and 20 of these games will be released within the PS4s first year.
Ratings-Only Reviews for PlayStation®4
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Rating: 
4.9 / 5
4.9 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 7 out of 7
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5